Languages of the EEC

  • Bernard Jeffcote
Part of the Finance and Capital Markets Series book series (FCMS)


There are at least twelve vernacular languages within the Community. Only six are regarded as official and are spoken within the European Parliament, i.e. English, French, Dutch, Italian, German and Danish. Simultaneous translation is provided, and all documents are presented in these six languages and are recognised by a colour code. Prior to 31 December 1972 English and Danish were not official languages, and English translations of documents existing prior to 1972 (e.g. the EEC Treaty) are therefore not official translations, and may contain inaccuracies.

Copyright information

© Ernst & Young 1993

Authors and Affiliations

  • Bernard Jeffcote

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations