• F. B. Pinion
Part of the Macmillan Author Chronologies book series (ACH)


John Keats, one of the ‘inheritors of unfulfilled renown’ like Chatterton, whose poetry he admired, was only twenty-five when he died in Rome on 23 February 1821. After 1819 he attempted hardly any verse, and yet, in little more than three years, from October 1816, when he wrote ‘On First Looking into Chapman’s Homer’, he achieved some of the most imperishable poems in the English language. The year from late September 1818 to September 1819 is often regarded as his annus mirabilis, for within this period he wrote most of the poetry by which he is remembered. This includes — the list is given without regard to chronological order — the odes to a Nightingale, on a Grecian Urn, to Psyche, Fancy, to Autumn, and on Melancholy; ‘La Belle Dame sans Merci’; ‘The Eve of St. Agnes’ and ‘The Eve of Saint Mark’; ‘Lamia’; and the two epic fragments ‘Hyperion’ and ‘The Fall of Hyperion’.


Bright Star Paradise Lost Beautiful Scenery High Reason Poetic Style 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© F. B. Pinion 1992

Authors and Affiliations

  • F. B. Pinion
    • 1
  1. 1.University of SheffieldUK

Personalised recommendations