Economic Developments in the Pacific Area Developing Countries since 1963

  • Bela Balassa


The developing countries of the Pacific Area have had an outstanding economic record over the past twenty-five years. This conclusion applies to the East Asian NICs, including Hong Kong, Korea, Singapore and Taiwan; with the exception of the Philippines, it also applies to the group of NECs which includes Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines and Thailand (the ASEAN member countries other than Singapore and Brunei).


Gross Domestic Product Latin American Country External Shock Import Substitution External Debt 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Bela Balassa 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Bela Balassa
    • 1
    • 2
  1. 1.The Johns Hopkins UniversityBaltimoreUSA
  2. 2.World BankUSA

Personalised recommendations