Design and Qualification Testing

  • David J. Smith


There are four categories of testing:
  • Design Testing — Laboratory and prototype tests aimed at proving that a design will meet the specification. Initially bread board functional tests aimed at proving the design. This will extend to pre-production models which undergo environmental and reliability tests and may overlap with:

  • Qualification Testing — Total proving cycle using production models over the full range of the environmental and functional specification. This involves extensive marginal tests, climatic and shock tests, reliability and maintainability tests and the accumulation of some field data. It must not be confused with development or production testing. There is also:

  • Production Testing and Commissioning — Verification of conformance by testing modules and complete equipment. Some reliability proving and burn-in may be involved. Generally failures will be attributable to component procurement, production methods, etc. Design-related queries will arise but should diminish in quantity as production continues.

  • Demonstration Testing — An acceptance test whereby equipment is tested to agreed criteria and passes or fails according to the number of failures. These tests involve the following areas.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© David J. Smith 1988

Authors and Affiliations

  • David J. Smith

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations