Microwave and far infrared magnetotransmission studies in Hg1−xMnxSe

  • R. E. Kremer
  • A. M. Witowski
  • M. Jaczynski
  • J. K. Furdyna
8. Semimagnetic Semiconductors
Part of the Lecture Notes in Physics book series (LNP, volume 152)


The method of helicon-excited EPR is used to measure the dynamic magnetic susceptibility of Hg1−xMnxSe as a function of x, using 35 GHz microwaves. For low x, six well-resolved hyperfine structure lines are observed, but fine structure is not resolved. In addition, far-infrared magnetotransmission measurements were carried out on Hg1−xMnxSe with x = 0.03. The electric-dipole-excited spin resonance and the combined resonance were clearly observed. The data is quantitatively interpreted in terms of the Pidgeon-Brown model, modified to include the spin-spin exchange interaction of Mn++ ions with band electrons.


Landau Level Static Susceptibility Fine Structure Splitting Hyperfine Splitting Constant Dynamic Magnetic Susceptibility 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    J. K. Furdyna, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 37, 462 (1966).Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    R. T. Holm and J. K. Furdyna, Solid State Commun. 15, 1459 (1974); Phys. Rev. B 15, 844 (1977).Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    D. P. Mullin and J. K. Furdyna, Phys. Rev. B 24, 355 (1981).Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    K. Falkowski, Acta. Physics Polonica 32, 831 (1967).Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    R. E. Kremer and J. K. Furdyna (unpublished).Google Scholar
  6. 6.
    H. K. Fun, R. L. Mieher, Y. K. Aggarwal and J. K. Furdyna (unpublished).Google Scholar
  7. 7.
    C. R. Pidgeon and R. N. Brown, Phys. Rev. 146, 575 (1966); W. Leung and L. Liu, Phys. Rev. B 8, 3811 (1973).Google Scholar
  8. 8.
    G. Bastard, C. Rigaux, Y. Guldner, J. Mycielski and A. Mycielski, J. de Phys. 39, 87 (1978).Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    J. A. Gaj, R. Planel and G. Fishman, Solid State Commun. 29, 435 (1979).Google Scholar
  10. 10.
    M. Dobrowolska, W. Dobrówolski and A. Mycielski, Solid State Commun. 34, 441 (1980).Google Scholar
  11. 11.
    K. Pastor, M. Jaczynski and J. K. Furdyna, Phys. Rev. B (to be published).Google Scholar
  12. 12.
    P. Byszewski, M. Z. Cieplak and A. Mongird-Górska, J. Phys. C 13, 5383 (1980).Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag 1982

Authors and Affiliations

  • R. E. Kremer
    • 1
  • A. M. Witowski
    • 1
  • M. Jaczynski
    • 1
  • J. K. Furdyna
    • 1
  1. 1.Department of PhysicsPurdue UniversityWest LafayetteUSA

Personalised recommendations