Tiny 3-TLS: A Trust Delegation Protocol for Wireless Sensor Networks

  • Sepideh Fouladgar
  • Bastien Mainaud
  • Khaled Masmoudi
  • Hossam Afifi
Part of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science book series (LNCS, volume 4357)


Adapting security protocols to wireless sensor networks architectures is a challenging research field because of their specific constraints. Actually, sensors are computationally weak devices, unable to perform heavy cryptographic operations like classical asymmetric algorithms (RSA, Diffie-Hellman). In this paper, we introduce Tiny 3-TLS, an extension and adaptation of TLS handshake sub-protocol that allows establishing secure communications between sensing nodes and remote monitoring terminals. Our protocol aims at guaranteeing the integrity and confidentiality of communications between sensors and distant terminals, after having established mutual authentication between the two parties. In order to achieve these security goals without putting too much burden on sensing devices, Tiny 3-TLS rely on an intermediate node, the sink node. Depending on the trustworthiness of this sink node and on the applications, we propose two versions of our proposition. Besides, we provide a formal validation of the protocol’s security goals achievement and an evaluation of its computation and delay performances.


Sensor Network Wireless Sensor Network Shared Secret Sink Node Mutual Authentication 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    The Avrora project homepage,
  2. 2.
    The AVISPA project homepage,
  3. 3.
    Watro, R., Kong, D., Cuti, S., Gardiner, C., Lynn, C., Kruus, P.: TinyPK: Securing Sensor Networks with Public Key Technology. In: ACM Workshop on Security of Ad Hoc and Sensor Networks (October 2004)Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    Gupta, V., Millard, M., Fung, S., Zhu, Y., Gura, N., Eberle, H., Shantz, S.C.: Sizzle: A Standards-based end-to-end Security Architecture for the Embedded Internet. In: Third IEEE International Conference on Pervasive Computing and Communications (March 2005)Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    Masmoudi, K., Hussein, M., Afifi, H., Seret, D.: Tri-party TLS Adaptation for Trust Delegation in Home Networks. In: IEEE International Conference on Security and Privacy for Emerging Areas in Communication Networks (September 2005)Google Scholar
  6. 6.
    Dierks, T., Rescorla, E.: The Transport Layer Security (TLS) Protocol - Version 1.1. IETF RFC 4346 (April 2006)Google Scholar
  7. 7.
    Koblitz, N.: Elliptic Curve Cryptosystems. Mathematics of Computation 48, 203–209 (1987)zbMATHCrossRefMathSciNetGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    Miller, V.: Uses of Elliptic Curves in Cryptography. In: Williams, H.C. (ed.) CRYPTO 1985. LNCS, vol. 218, pp. 417–426. Springer, Heidelberg (1986)Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    Chevalier, Y., et al.: A High-Level Protocol Specification Language for Industrial Security-Sensitive Protocols,
  10. 10.
    Dolev, D., Yao, A.: On the Security of Public-Key Protocols. IEEE Transactions on Information Theory 2(29) (1983)Google Scholar
  11. 11.
    Basin, D., Modersheim, S., Viganno, L.: OFMC: A Symbolic Model-Checker for Security Protocols. International Journal of Information Security (2004)Google Scholar
  12. 12.
    Lamport, L.: The temporal logic of actions. ACM Transactions on Programming Languages and Systems 16(3), 872–923 (1994)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. 13.
    Wireless medium access control and physical layer specifications for low-rate wireless personal area networks. IEEE Standard, 802.15.4-2003 (May 2003), ISBN 0-7381-3677-5Google Scholar
  14. 14.
    IST MAGNET-Beyond project homepage,
  15. 15.
    IEEE Std. 802.1X-2004, Standards for Local and Metropolitan Area Networks: Port Based Network Acces ControlGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2006

Authors and Affiliations

  • Sepideh Fouladgar
    • 1
  • Bastien Mainaud
    • 1
  • Khaled Masmoudi
    • 1
  • Hossam Afifi
    • 1
  1. 1.Institut National des TélécommunicationsEvry CedexFrance

Personalised recommendations