Modified Cluster Head Election Scheme Based on LEACH Protocol for MI-Driven UGWSNs

  • A. Laxmi Prasanna
  • Vinay KumarEmail author
Conference paper
Part of the Lecture Notes in Electrical Engineering book series (LNEE, volume 587)


To enlarge the lifetime of any microsensor network the factors like energy consumption rate, efficient routing protocols, and media access plays an important role. In this article, we incorporated the concept of low-energy adaptive clustering hierarchy (LEACH) protocol in homogeneous magnetic induction (MI) communication-based underground wireless sensor network (UGWSN), i.e., in dry soil medium. Furthermore, we extended our study to its heterogeneous counterpart. Herein, a distinct energy model is used for energy calculations. Apart from this, we developed an energy-efficient threshold-based cluster head (CH) election technique which considers the initial energy of every sensor node in each round. The simulation results show that there is a consistent performance in prolonging the wireless sensor network lifetime which is expressed in terms of energy dissipation of network and the number of alive nodes.


Underground wireless sensor networks (UGWSNs) MI communication LEACH protocol and energy heterogeneity 


  1. 1.
    Sandeep, D.N., Kumar, V.: Review on clustering, coverage and connectivity in underwater wireless sensor networks: a communication techniques perspective. IEEE Access J. 5, 11176–111999 (2017)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    Pathak, V., Kumar, V., Barik, R.: Magnetic induction communication-based transceiver coil and waveguide structure modeling for non-conventional WSNs. In: Accepted for Publication in 9th ICCCNT 2018, at IISc Bangalore. IEEE (2018)Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    Tambe, S., Kumar, V., Bhusari, R.: Magnetic induction-based cluster optimization in non-conventional WSNs: a cross layer approach. AEU-Int. J. Electron. Commun. 93, 53–62 (2018)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    Kumar, V., Sandeep, D., Yadav, S., Barik, R.K., Tripathi, R., Tiwari, S.: Multi-hop communication based optimal clustering in hexagon and voronoi cell structured WSNs. AEU-Int. J. Electron. Commun. 93, 305–316 (2018)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    Yadav, S., Kumar, V.: Optimal clustering in underwater wireless sensor networks: acoustic, EM and FSO communication compliant technique. IEEE Access J. 5, 12761–12776. Scholar
  6. 6.
    Chatterjee, R., Kumar, V.: Energy efficient routing protocol via chain formation in gaussian distributed wireless sensor networks. Int. J. Electron. Lett. Taylor Francis USA. Scholar
  7. 7.
    Heinzelman, W.B., Chandrakasan, A.P., Balakrishnan, H.: An-application protocol architecture for wireless microsensor networks. IEEE Trans. Wirel. Commun. 1(4) (2002)Google Scholar
  8. 8.
    Sharma, A.K., Yadav, S., Dandu, S.N., Kumar, V., Senguptha, J., Dhok, S.B., Kumar, S.: Magnetic Induction-based non-conventional media communications: a review. IEEE Sens. J. 17(4) (2017)Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    Sun, Z., Akyildiz, I.F.: Magnetic induction communications for wireless underground sensor networks. IEEE Trans. Antennas Propag. 58(7) (2010)Google Scholar
  10. 10.
    Kumar, V.: Design of magnetic induction based energy efficient WSNs for non-conventional media using multilayer transmitter enabled novel energy model. Accepted IEEE Syst. J. (2018). Scholar
  11. 11.
    Zhou, H., Wu, Y., Xie, G.: A stable election protocol based on energy dissipation forecast method for clustered heterogeneous wireless sensor networks. In: International Conference on Wireless Communications, Networking and Mobile Computing (2009).
  12. 12.
    Heinzelman, W.B., Chandrakasan, A.P., Balakrishnan, H.: Energy-efficient communication protocol for wireless microsensor networks. In: Proceedings of 33rd Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences (2000)Google Scholar
  13. 13.
    Sun, Z., Akyildiz, I.F.: Channel modeling and analysis for wireless networks in underground mines and road tunnels. IEEE Trans. Commun. 58(6) (2010)CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Visvesvaraya National Institute of TechnologyNagpurIndia

Personalised recommendations