Processes, Procedures and Regulations in Motor Racing Series (Motorcycle Sports)

  • Alessandro SambucoEmail author


The control and development of Motorcycling have been a prerogative, since 1904, of the Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM).

There are 113 National Motorcycle Federations (FMNs) affiliated Members of the FIM.

In order to exercise its sports authority over the Continental Championships, FIM has recognized six Continental Unions (CONUs) as its geographical divisions.

At the level of the FIM World Championships and Prizes, motorcycle racing features six different disciplines.

Since 1998, FIM has made the Union Européenne de Motocyclisme (UEM), FIM Europe after 2010, responsible for the organization of the European Championships and Cups.

Now there are 47 National Motorcycle Federations (FMNs) which are affiliated Members of FIM Europe.

FIM Europe has the task of organizing the Championships and the Continental Cups for each discipline. At European Championships and Cups level, motorcycle racing features nine different disciplines.

The bodies of FIM Europe are as follows:

  1. 1.

    General Assembly: the supreme authority

  2. 2.

    Management Council: administration and management

  3. 3.

    Executive Board: day-to-day business

  4. 4.

    Councils: advance sporting and non-sporting guidelines and proposals

  5. 5.

    Commissions: research and define proposals for sporting and technical rules

  6. 6.

    Auditing Board: audits and checks budget application

  7. 7.

    Judicial Panel: handles disciplinary matters

  8. 8.

    Medical Panel: handles medical issues


FIM Europe’s Administration acts in accordance with the guidelines of the Management Council.

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag GmbH Deutschland, ein Teil von Springer Nature  2018

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.FIM Europe, General SecretariatRomeItaly

Personalised recommendations