Advertisement

Characterizing and Mitigating the DDoS-as-a-Service Phenomenon

  • José Jair Santanna
  • Anna Sperotto
Part of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science book series (LNCS, volume 8508)

Abstract

Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS) attacks are an increasing threat on the Internet. Until a few years ago, these types of attacks were only launched by people with advanced knowledge of computer networks. However, nowadays the ability to launch attacks have been offered as a service to everyone, even to those without any advanced knowledge. Booters are online tools that offer DDoS-as-a-Service. Some of them advertise, for less than U$ 5, up to 25 Gbps of DDoS traffic, which is more than enough to make most hosts and services on the Internet unavailable. Booters are increasing in popularity and they have shown the success of attacks against third party services, such as government websites; however, there are few mitigation proposals. In addition, existing literature in this area provides only a partial understanding of the threat, for example by analyzing only a few aspects of one specific Booter. In this paper, we propose mitigation solutions against DDoS-as-a-Service that will be achieved after an extensive characterization of Booters. Early results show 59 different Booters, which some of them do not deliver what is offered. This research is still in its initial phase and will contribute to a Ph.D. thesis after four years.

References

  1. 1.
    Prince, M.: The DDoS That Almost Broke the Internet, http://blog.cloudflare.com/the-ddos-that-almost-broke-the-internet (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  2. 2.
    Karami, M., McCoy, D.: Understanding the Emerging Threat of DDoS-as-a-Service. In: Proceedings of the 6th UNSENIX Workshop on Large-Scale Exploits and Emergent Threats. LEET 2013 (2013)Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    Krebs, B.: The World Has No Room for Cowards, http://krebsonsecurity.com/2013/03/the-world-has-no-room-for-cowards (accessed on April 7, 2014.)
  4. 4.
    Prolexic: Multiplayer Video Gaming Attacks, http://www.prolexic.com/knowledge-center-white-paper-series-gaming-reflection-attacks-drdos-ddos (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  5. 5.
    Lackery, J.: A New Twist on Denial of Service: DDoS as a Service, http://blogs.cisco.com/security/a_new_twist_on_denial_of_service_ddos_as_a_service/ (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  6. 6.
    Prolexic: Threat: DDoS Booter Shell Scripts, http://www.prolexic.com/knowledge-center-ddos-threat-advisories-booter-shell-scripts.html (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  7. 7.
    Prolexic: Quarterly Global DDoS Attack Report Q3, http://www.prolexic.com/knowledge-center-ddos-attack-report-2013-q3.html (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  8. 8.
    Goncharov, M.: Russian Underground 101, http://blog.trendmicro.com/trendlabs-security-intelligence/a-look-into-the-russian-underground/ (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  9. 9.
    Krebs, B.: Ragebooter: Legit DDoS Service, or Fed Backdoor, http://krebsonsecurity.com/2013/05/ragebooter-legit-ddos-service-or-fed-backdoor/ (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  10. 10.
  11. 11.
    Atlas, R.: Ripe Atlas website, https://atlas.ripe.net (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  12. 12.
    Hurricane Electric: Hurricane Electric - BGP Toolkit Home, http://bgp.he.net (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  13. 13.
    Alexa: Alexa website, http://www.alexa.com (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  14. 14.
    SURFNet: SURFNet website, http://www.surf.nl (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  15. 15.
    CERT.at: Computer Emergency Response Team Austria website, http://www.cert.at (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  16. 16.
    FLAMINGO: FLAMINGO website, http://www.fp7-flamingo.eu (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  17. 17.
    Google: Google’s Custom Search, https://developers.google.com/custom-search/ (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  18. 18.
    Arbor Networks: Worldwide Infrastructure Security Report - Volume IX, http://www.arbornetworks.com/resources/infrastructure-security-report (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  19. 19.
    Rebel-security: Rebel Security’s Website, http://rebel-security.com (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  20. 20.
    Olympus Stresser: Olympus Stresser’s Website, http://olympusstresser.org (accessed on April 7, 2014)
  21. 21.
    VDoSs: VDoSs’ Website, http://vdoss.net (accessed on April 7, 2014)

Copyright information

© International Federation for Information Processing 2014

Authors and Affiliations

  • José Jair Santanna
    • 1
  • Anna Sperotto
    • 1
  1. 1.Design and Analysis of Communication Systems (DACS)University of Twente EnschedeThe Netherlands

Personalised recommendations