Improved Extraction of Photo-Generated Carriers in InGaN MQWSC: Effect of Staggered Quantum Wells with Triple Indium Content

  • Basant SainiEmail author
  • Sugandha Sharma
  • Ravinder Kaur
  • Suchandan Pal
  • Avinashi Kapoor
Conference paper
Part of the Springer Proceedings in Physics book series (SPPHY, volume 215)


The use of three different indium (In) compositions in InxGa1−xN quantum wells (QWs) with staggered geometry is proposed to improve the photovoltaic properties of InGaN/GaN multiple quantum well solar cell (MQWSC). Improved lattice matching at the last QW and p-GaN interface along with staggered QWs leads to an increase in short circuit current density, resulting in an overall 45% enhancement in efficiency as compared to reference cell. The optimized MQWSC with staggered QWs solar cell shows a fill factor (FF) of 0.68 and efficiency of 1.21% under AM1.5G illumination.



This work has been supported by the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) through the PSC-109 network programme. Authors are thankful to the Director, CSIR–CEERI for his support and all members of Opto & MOEMS group, CSIR–CEERI for their cooperation.


  1. 1.
    A. Alemu, J.A.H. Coaquira, A. Freundlich, Dependence of device performance on carrier escape sequence in multi-quantum-well p-i-n solar cells. J. Appl. Phys. 99(8) (2006). 084506-1-084506-3ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    V. Fiorentini, F. Bernadini, O. Ambacher, Evidence for nonlinear macroscopic polarization in III-V nitride alloy heterostructures. Appl. Phys. Lett. 80, 1204–1206 (2002)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    APSYS User’s Manual, Crosslight Software Inc.,
  4. 4.
    B. Saini, S. Adhikari, S. Pal, A. Kapoor, Polarization compensation at low p-GaN doping density in InGaN/GaN p-i-n solar cells: effect of InGaN interlayers. Superlattices Microstruct. 107, 127–135 (2017)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Switzerland AG 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  • Basant Saini
    • 1
    Email author
  • Sugandha Sharma
    • 1
  • Ravinder Kaur
    • 2
  • Suchandan Pal
    • 3
  • Avinashi Kapoor
    • 1
  1. 1.Department of Electronic ScienceUniversity of DelhiNew DelhiIndia
  2. 2.Department of ElectronicsDeen Dayal Upadhyaya College, University of DelhiNew DelhiIndia
  3. 3.Optoelectronics & MOEMS GroupCSIR-CEERIPilaniIndia

Personalised recommendations