Understanding the Optical, Electrical and Photoelectrochemical Properties of PbTiO3 Thin Films

  • Dipika SharmaEmail author
  • Rishibrind Kumar Upadhyay
  • Nisha Kodan
  • B. R. Mehta
Conference paper
Part of the Springer Proceedings in Physics book series (SPPHY, volume 215)


PbTiO3 thin films were synthesized using spin coating sol gel method and sintered at three different temperatures. All the thin films sample were analysed using XRD, scanning electron microscopy, Raman spectroscopy, UV-Vis spectroscopy analysis which shows that PbTiO3 films were having cubic crystal structure with band gap value of 3.0 eV respectively. The photoelectrochemical response was also observed in three electrode PEC cell. Photoanodic behaviour for PbTiO3 films with highest photocurrent density of 1.2 mAcm−2 at 0.8 V/Ag/AgCl for sample sintered at 650 °C was observed.



Author (Dipika Sharma) thankfully accept the economic funding received from SERB-DST, New Delhi, India through National Post Doc fellowship.


  1. 1.
    T. Bak, J. Nowotny, M. Rekas, C.C. Sorrell, Int. J. Hydrog. Energy 27, 91–1022 (2002)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    Z. Nurbaya, N.E.A. Azhar, L.N. Ismail, M.H. Wahid, S.A.H. Alrokayan, H. Khan, M. Rusop, 978, 2nd International Conference on Electrical, Electronics and System Engineering (ICEESE), 16–18 (2014)Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    D. Sharma, V.R. Satsangi, R. Shrivastav, U.V. Waghmare, S. Dass, Int. J. Hydrog. Energy 39, 4289–4299 (2014)Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    D. Sharma, V.R. Satsangi, R. Shrivastav, U.V. Waghmare, S. Dass, J. Phys. Chem. C 118, 25320–25329 (2014)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    D. Sharma, V.R. Satsangi, R. Shrivastav, U.V. Waghmare, S. Dass, Appl. Catal. B 189, 75–85 (2016)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    D. Sharma, R.K. Upadhyay, V.R. Satsangi, R. Shrivastav, U.V. Waghmare, S. Dass, Renew. Energy 113, 503–511 (2017)Google Scholar
  7. 7.
    L. Li, Y. Zhang, A.M. Schultz, X. Liu, P.A. Salvador, G.S. Rohrer, Catal. Sci. Technol. 2, 1945–1952 (2012)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    D. Sharma, S. Upadhyay, A. Verma, V.R. Satsangi, R. Shrivastav, S. Dass, Thin Solid Films 574, 125–133 (2015)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Switzerland AG 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  • Dipika Sharma
    • 1
    Email author
  • Rishibrind Kumar Upadhyay
    • 2
  • Nisha Kodan
    • 1
  • B. R. Mehta
    • 1
  1. 1.Thin Film Laboratory, Department of PhysicsIndian Institute of TechnologyNew DelhiIndia
  2. 2.Department of ElectronicsAcharya Narendra Dev College, Delhi UniversityNew DelhiIndia

Personalised recommendations