Advertisement

India: Growth Embedded in Tradition

  • Anna VeselovaEmail author
  • Liudmila Veselova
Chapter
Part of the Palgrave Studies of Internationalization in Emerging Markets book series (PSIEM)

Abstract

This chapter presents and critically discusses the general picture of talent management practices and challenges in Indian companies. We will elaborate on what a good talent management strategy is and what else is important for Indian firms while managing talented employees in comparison with other countries in the Asia-Pacific region.

References

  1. Amba-Rao, Sita C., Joseph A. Petrick, Jatinder N.D. Guta, and Thomas J. Von der Embse. 2000. Comparative Performance Appraisal Practices and Management Values among Foreign and Domestic Firms in India. International Journal of Human Resource Management 11 (1): 60–89.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. Aspirations 2020. 2017. Aspirations2020 Programming Contest. campusconnect.infosys.com/aspirations/staticpages/ap/programmingcontest.aspx. Accessed 12 Aug 2017.
  3. Bhatnagar, Jyotsna. 2007. Talent Management Strategy of Employee Engagement in Indian ITES Employees: Key to Retention. Employee Relations 29 (6): 640–663.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. Bhatnagar, Jyotsna, and Pawan Budhwar. 2009. The Changing Face of People Management in India. London: Routledge.Google Scholar
  5. Budhwar, Pawan. 2003. Employment Relations in India. Employee Relations 25 (2): 132–148.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. Campus Connect. 2017. Spark. campusconnect.infosys.com/spark/Home.aspx. Accessed 12 Aug 2017.
  7. Chatterjee, Samir R. 2007. Human Resource Management in India: ‘Where from’ and ‘Where to?’. Research and Practice in Human Resource Management 15 (2): 92–103.Google Scholar
  8. Forbes. 2017a. Top Multinational Performance Ranking 2017. www.forbes.com/companies/infosys/. Accessed 12 Aug 2017.
  9. ———. 2017b. Global 2000: World’s Best Employers 2017 Ranking. www.forbes.com/companies/larsen-toubro/. Accessed 20 Aug 2017.
  10. Globe. 2017. Infosys Ltd. www.globecapital.com/company-information/directors-report/Infosys/2806. Accessed 12 Aug 2017.
  11. Gopalan, Suresh, and Joan B. Rivera. 1997. Gaining a Perspective on Indian Value Orientations: Implications for Expatriate Managers. International Journal of Organizational Analysis 5 (2): 156–179.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. HRM in India. 2017. www.whatishumanresource.com/hrm-in-india. Accessed 8 Aug 2017.
  13. IBEF. 2017. Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Ltd (ONGC). www.ibef.org/industry/oil-gas-india/showcase/oil-and-natural-gas-corporation-ltd. Accessed 20 Aug 2017.
  14. Indiamart. 2017a. ONGC Energy Centre. https://www.indiamart.com/proddetail/ongc-energy-centre-7007499462.html. Accessed 20 Aug 2017.
  15. ———. 2017b. Larsen & Toubro. www.indiamart.com/company/4074897/aboutus.html. Accessed 20 Aug 2017.
  16. Infosys. 2017a. Products and Platforms. www.infosys.com/products-and-platforms/. Accessed 12 Aug 2017.
  17. ———. 2017b. Careers. www.infosys.com/careers/. Accessed 12 Aug 2017.
  18. ———. 2017c. Our Culture. www.infosys.com/careers/culture/our-values/. Accessed 12 Aug 2017.
  19. ———. 2017d. The Infosys Approach. www.infosys.com/careers/culture/our-approach/. Accessed 12 Aug 2017.
  20. Inside HR. 2014. Infosys’ 3 Keys to Talent Management. www.insidehr.com.au/infosys-3-keys-to-talent-management/. Accessed 12 Aug 2017.
  21. Larsen & Toubro. 2013. L&T in Top 5 ‘Best Companies to Work For’. www.larsentoubro.com/media/27686/businesstoday18072013.pdf. Accessed 20 Aug 2017.
  22. ———. 2017a. Overview. www.larsentoubro.com/corporate/careers/overview/. Accessed 20 Aug 2017.
  23. ———. 2017b. Employee Engagement. www.larsentoubro.com/corporate/sustainability/employee-engagement/. Accessed 20 Aug 2017.
  24. ———. 2017c. Campus Recruitment. www.larsentoubro.com/corporate/careers/campus-recruitment/. Accessed 20 Aug 2017.
  25. ———. 2017d. Learning & Development. www.larsentoubro.com/corporate/careers/learning-development/. Accessed 20 Aug 2017.
  26. Larsen & Toubro Annual Report 2014–2015. 2015. investors.larsentoubro.com/upload/AnnualRep/FY2015AnnualRepL&T%20AR%202015_LRS.pdf. Accessed 20 Aug 2017.
  27. Latukha, Marina. 2016. Talent Management in Emerging Market Firms: Global Strategy and Local Challenges. London: Palgrave Macmillan.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  28. Leadership Development Academy. 2017. www.lnt-lda.com/about.php. Accessed 20 Aug 2017.
  29. Mishra, Bibhu R. 2014. Infosys Broadens Scope of Talent Management. www.business-standard.com/article/companies/infosys-broadens-scope-of-talent-management-114011100672_1.html. Accessed 12 Aug 2017.
  30. ONGC. 2017a. Corporate Profile. www.ongcindia.com/wps/wcm/connect/ongcindia/Home/company/corporate-profile. Accessed 20 Aug 2017.
  31. ———. 2017b. Vision & Mission. www.ongcindia.com/wps/wcm/connect/ongcindia/Home/company/vision-mission. Accessed 20 Aug 2017.
  32. ———. 2017d. Recruitment Policy. hwww.ongcindia.com/wps/wcm/connect/ongcindia/Home/Careers/recruitment-policy/#crprofile. Accessed 20 Aug 2017.
  33. ONGC Annual Report 2016–17. 2017. http://www.ongcindia.com/wps/wcm/PDF/AnnualReport/AR201617.pdf. Accessed 12 Jan 2018.
  34. Revolvy. 2017. Infosys. https://www.revolvy.com/main/index.php?s=Infosys. Accessed 12 Aug 2017.
  35. SAP Hybris. 2017. Infosys Limited. www.hybris.com/en/partners/details/infosyslimited. Accessed 12 Aug 2017.
  36. Sengupta, Devina. 2012. Infosys: Measures that the Company Is Taking to Keep Up Its Bench Morale. economictimes.indiatimes.com/articleshow/14848510.cms?utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst. Accessed 12 Aug 2017.
  37. Shreyas Technologies. 2017. Larsen & Toubro Limited. shreyastech.com/web/company/larsen-toubro-limited/. Accessed 20 Aug 2017.
  38. Sparrow, Paul R., and Pawan Budhwar. 1997. Competition and Change: Mapping the Indian HRM Recipe against World-wide Patterns. Journal of World Business 32 (3): 224–242.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  39. The Hindu Business Line. 2014. Infosys to Begin Fast-Track Career Programme for High Performers Soon. www.thehindubusinessline.com/companies/infosys-to-begin-fasttrack-career-programme-for-high-performers-soon/article6114775.ece. Accessed 12 Aug 2017.
  40. Venkata Ratnam, C.S., and V. Chandra. 1996. Sources of Diversity and the Challenge before Human Resource Management in India. International Journal of Manpower 17 (4/5): 76–96.CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© The Author(s) 2018

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Graduate School of ManagementSt. Petersburg State UniversitySt. PetersburgRussia
  2. 2.School of International RelationsSt. Petersburg State UniversitySt. PetersburgRussia

Personalised recommendations