The European Union: Culture, Identity and Languages

  • Agata Klimczak-PawlakEmail author
Part of the Second Language Learning and Teaching book series (SLLT)


The European Union (EU) is an unprecedented attempt to bring together economically, politically, and above all culturally and linguistically diverse countries, to create a shared EU identity and culture, which would promote communication, understanding and cooperation. The European Union is a union of, at present, twenty eight member states located primarily, but not exclusively in Europe; these are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom (UK).


European Union Member State Foreign Language Language Policy Language Learning 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© Springer International Publishing Switzerland 2014

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Institute of English StudiesUniversity of WarsawWarsawPoland

Personalised recommendations