Advertisement

Austin Water Developing the Circular Water Economy

  • Robert C. Brears
Chapter
Part of the Palgrave Studies in Climate Resilient Societies book series (PSCRS)

Abstract

Austin Water has implemented a range of technology policies to facilitate the development of the circular water economy that not only mitigates greenhouse gas emissions but also enhances resilience to climate change.

Keywords

Water conservation Water efficiency Water reuse Water recycling Resource recovery Renewable energy 

References

  1. Austin Water. “3C Business Challenge: Commit, Calculate, Conserve.” http://www.austintexas.gov/department/3c-business-challenge-commit-calculate-conserve.
  2. ———. “Biogas to Power Wastewater Treatment Plant.” http://austinenergy.blogspot.com/2012/08/biogas-to-power-wastewater-treatment.html.
  3. ———. “Commercial Facility Irrigation Assessment.” http://www.austintexas.gov/department/commercial-facility-assessments.
  4. ———. “Commercial Vehicle Wash Facility Efficiency Assessment.” http://www.austintexas.gov/page/commercial-vehicle-wash-facility-efficiency-assessments.
  5. ———. “Cooling Tower Efficiency.” http://www.austintexas.gov/page/cooling-towers.
  6. ———. “Dillo Dirt.” http://www.austintexas.gov/dillodirt.
  7. ———. “Dropcountr Home Water Use Report Frequently Asked Questions.” (2019, January 9). http://www.austintexas.gov/sites/default/files/files/Water/Conservation/DropcountrFAQ.pdf.
  8. ———. “Free Water Conservation Tools.” http://www.austintexas.gov/department/free-water-conservation-tools.
  9. ———. “Hornsby Bend Biosolids Management Plan.” (2010). http://www.ci.austin.tx.us/water/downloads/hornsbybendbro.pdf.
  10. ———. “Onsite Water Reuse Systems.” http://www.austintexas.gov/page/onsite-water-reuse-systems.
  11. ———. “Rebates, Tools, and Programs.” http://www.austintexas.gov/department/water-conservation-rebates.
  12. ———. “Reclaimed Water.” http://www.austintexas.gov/page/reclaimed-water.
  13. ———. “A Water Plan for the Next 100 Years.” (2018). http://austintexas.gov/sites/default/files/files/Water/WaterForward/Water_Forward_Booklet.pdf.
  14. ———. “Watering Restrictions.” http://www.austintexas.gov/department/watering-restrictions.
  15. Office of Sustainability, City of Austin. “Climate Change.” https://www.austintexas.gov/climate.

Copyright information

© The Author(s) 2020

Authors and Affiliations

  • Robert C. Brears
    • 1
  1. 1.Our Future WaterChristchurchNew Zealand

Personalised recommendations