Advertisement

Developing the Circular Water Economy: Reduce

  • Robert C. Brears
Chapter
Part of the Palgrave Studies in Climate Resilient Societies book series (PSCRS)

Abstract

In the circular water economy, the concept of reduce is achieved through water conservation and water efficiency measures, in particular using less water and, where we do need to use water, making sure water is used efficiently. At the same time, reducing water usage can restore the natural environment.

Keywords

Water conservation Water efficiency Demand management 

References

  1. Arab Forum for Environment and Development. “Water Efficiency Handbook: Identifying Opportunities to Increase Water Use Efficiency in Industry, Buildings, and Agriculture in the Arab Countries.” (2014). http://www.afedonline.org/WEH2014/eng/WATER-Efficiency-Handbook-ENGLISH.pdf.
  2. Barua, S., R. Kumar, and P. Singh. “10 Water Saving Techniques in Agriculture.” http://www.indiawaterportal.org/articles/10-water-saving-techniques-agriculture.
  3. Brears, R. C. Blue and Green Cities: The Role of Blue-Green Infrastructure in Managing Urban Water Resources. London, UK: Palgrave Macmillan, 2018.Google Scholar
  4. ———. Climate Resilient Water Resources Management. Cham, Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan, 2018.Google Scholar
  5. ———. The Green Economy and the Water-Energy-Food Nexus. London, UK: Palgrave Macmillan, 2017.Google Scholar
  6. ———. Urban Water Security. Chichester, UK and Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2016.Google Scholar
  7. City of Guelph. “Residential Sub-water Meter Program.” http://guelph.ca/living/environment/rebates/residential-sub-water-meter-program/.
  8. City of Vancouver. “New Water Restrictions Explained.” https://vancouver.ca/home-property-development/understanding-watering-restrictions.aspx.
  9. Empire State Development. “New York State New Farmers Grant Fund Program.” https://esd.ny.gov/new-farmers-grant-fund-program.
  10. Government of Hong Kong. “WSD Launches Requirements for Mandatory Use of Devices Under Water Efficiency Labelling Scheme.” https://www.info.gov.hk/gia/general/201701/20/P2017011900857.htm.
  11. McDonald, Robert I., Katherine F. Weber, Julie Padowski, Tim Boucher, and Daniel Shemie. “Estimating Watershed Degradation over the Last Century and Its Impact on Water-Treatment Costs for the World’s Large Cities.” Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 113, no. 32 (2016): 9117–22.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. National Institute of Building Sciences. “Water Conservation.” https://www.wbdg.org/resources/water-conservation.
  13. NYC DEP. “New York City Water Challenge to Restaurants.” http://home2.nyc.gov/html/dep/html/ways_to_save_water/nyc-water-restaurants-challenge.shtml.
  14. Pacific Institute. “Multiple Benefits of Water Conservation and Efficiency for California Agriculture.” https://pacinst.org/publication/multiple-benefits-of-water-conservation-and-efficiency-for-california-agriculture/.
  15. Pacific Institute and NRDC. “Agricultural Water Conservation and Efficiency Potential in California.” (2014). http://pacinst.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/ca-water-ag-efficiency.pdf.
  16. Policy Research Initiative, Government of Canada. Economic Instruments for Water Demand Management in an Integrated Water Resources Management Framework: Synthesis Report. Policy Research Institute, 2005.Google Scholar
  17. Queensland Urban Utilities. “Prices and Charges 2018–19.” https://www.urbanutilities.com.au/residential/accounts-and-billing/prices-and-charges-2018-19.
  18. Severn Trent. “We’re Detecting Leaks from Space!” https://www.stwater.co.uk/news/news-releases/wearedetectingleaksfromspace/.
  19. Smart City Sweden. “Artificial Wetlands in Trosa.” https://smartcitysweden.com/reference-objects/77/artificial-wetlands-in-trosa/.
  20. State of Green. “Reducing Urban Water Loss.” (2016). https://stateofgreen.com/en/publications/reducing-urban-water-loss/.
  21. U.S. Department of Energy. “Guide to Home Water Efficiency.” (2010). https://www.energy.gov/sites/prod/files/guide_to_home_water_efficiency.pdf.
  22. U.S. Green Building Council. “Green Building 101: How Does Water Efficiency Impact a Building?”Google Scholar
  23. Water Supply Department. “Water Efficiency Labelling Scheme.” https://www.wsd.gov.hk/en/plumbing-engineering/water-efficiency-labelling-scheme/index.html.

Copyright information

© The Author(s) 2020

Authors and Affiliations

  • Robert C. Brears
    • 1
  1. 1.Our Future WaterChristchurchNew Zealand

Personalised recommendations