Part I: New World Symphony

  • Jennifer Linhart Wood
Part of the New Transculturalisms, 1400–1800 book series (NETRANS)


“Part I: New World Symphony” provides a brief introduction to the chapters “Rattling Soundscapes of Witch Drama and the New World” and “Hell’s Bells: Delight in Transatlantic Jinglings.” The title references Antonín Dvořák’s Ninth Symphony, which I employ in order to expand the meaning of “symphony” to include sonic collaborations between different cultures rather than to colonize the sounds of the early modern “New World” within a Western musicological framework. “New World” is also a fraught phrase because it temporally and physically negates the millions of peoples who had been living in the region for centuries before Europeans arrived and called this world “New.” I retain this terminology deliberately to remind readers that travelers to the “New World” possessed—at best—a perfunctory understanding of the Occidental hemisphere.

Copyright information

© The Author(s) 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  • Jennifer Linhart Wood
    • 1
    • 2
  1. 1.St. Mary’s College of MarylandSaint Mary’s CityUSA
  2. 2.The Folger Shakespeare LibraryWashington, DCUSA

Personalised recommendations