Advertisement

Science Communication Redux: Returning to the Collision Point

  • Kristine Larsen
Chapter
Part of the Science and Fiction book series (SCIFICT)

Abstract

In our previous discussion of scientific terminology salad in Chapter  4 we used an example from Gregory Benford’s Timescape in which “cranks seemed to think constructing a new theory involved only the invention of new terms” [1]. The term crank is slang for someone with strange ideas or behaviors. A common synonym is crackpot, and both terms are casually tossed around by scientists when discussing individuals (usually nonscientists) who claim to have either disproven various laws of physics (most often related to the work of Einstein) or have original ideas that not only violate accepted science but appear to not have any consistent scientific or mathematical basis. As I noted in that chapter, such derogatory terms are counterproductive when debunking misconceptions, as they feed into the very backfire effects we must seek to avoid.

References

  1. 1.
    G. Benford, Timescape (Bantam Books, New York, 1980), p. 235Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    J. Cook, S. Lewandowsky, The Debunking Handbook, version 2 (University of Queensland, St. Lucia, 2012), p. 3Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    Z. Merali, ArXiv Rejections Lead to Spat Over Screening Process, Nature, https://www.nature.com/news/arXiv-rejections-lead-to-spat-over-screening-process-1.19267
  4. 4.
    G. Brumfiel, What’s ArVix Spelled Backwards? A New Place to Publish, Nature, http://blogs.nature.com/news/2009/07/whats_arXiv_spelled_backwards.html
  5. 5.
    J. Petre, Meet Evans the Atom, Who Will End the World on Wednesday, The Daily Mail, http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-1053091/Meet-Evans-Atom-end-world-Wednesday.html
  6. 6.
    J. Ellis, CERN Colloquium: The LHC Is Safe, CERN, http://cds.cern.ch/record/1120625?ln=en
  7. 7.
    I. O’Neill, Anyone Who Thinks the LHC Will Destroy the World Is a Twat, Astroengine, https://astroengine.com/2008/09/04/brian-cox-anyone-who-thinks-the-lhc-will-destroy-the-world-is-a-twat/
  8. 8.
    I. O’Neill, A Statement by Professor Brian Cox, Astroengine, https://astroengine.com/2008/09/06/a-statement-by-professor-brian-cox/
  9. 9.
  10. 10.
    NASA: There Is No Asteroid Threatening Earth, NASA, https://www.nasa.gov/jpl/nasa-there-is-no-asteroid-threatening-earth
  11. 11.
    J. Letzing, CERN Is Seeking Secrets of the Universe, or Maybe Opening the Portals of Hell, Wall Street Journal, https://www.wsj.com/articles/cern-is-seeking-secrets-of-the-universe-or-maybe-opening-the-portals-of-hell-1459800113
  12. 12.
    R. Mandelbaum, Debunking Doomsday at CERN, Again, Scienceline, http://scienceline.org/2016/01/debunking-doomsday-at-cern-again/
  13. 13.
    M. Reisz, Students Fight for Their Lives as Living and Dead Collide, Times Higher Education, https://www.timeshighereducation.com/students-fight-for-their-lives-as-living-and-dead-collide/422289.article
  14. 14.
    T. Puiu, CERN Scientists Direct and Release Zombie Movie, ZME Science, https://www.zmescience.com/other/cern-zombie-movie-decay-043243/
  15. 15.
    F. Mazzotta, K. Kahle, ‘Humpty Dumpty’ Particle Discovered, CERN, https://home.cern/about/updates/2018/04/humpty-dumpty-particle-discovered
  16. 16.
    C. O’Luanaigh, CERN Researchers Confirm Existence of the Force, CERN, https://home.cern/about/updates/2015/04/cern-researchers-confirm-existence-force
  17. 17.
    A. Marsollier, Ancient Particle Accelerator Discovered on Mars, https://home.cern/about/updates/2017/04/ancient-particle-accelerator-discovered-mars
  18. 18.
    R. Urquhart, CERN Higgs Boson V Comic Sans Debacle, Huffington Post, https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/robert-urquhart/cern-higgs-boson-comic-sans-_b_1148058.html
  19. 19.
    C. O’Luanaigh, CERN to Switch to Comic Sans, https://home.cern/about/updates/2014/04/cern-switch-comic-sans
  20. 20.
    A. Knapp, How Much Does It Cost to Find a Higgs Boson?, Forbes, https://www.forbes.com/sites/alexknapp/2012/07/05/how-much-does-it-cost-to-find-a-higgs-boson/
  21. 21.
    M. Cistaré, J. Naya (script), The Mermaid, The Boat, season 2, (2011)Google Scholar
  22. 22.
    R.R. Wilson, R. Littauer, Accelerators: Machines of Nuclear Physics (Anchor Books, Garden City, 1960), pp. 167–168Google Scholar
  23. 23.
    A. Sessler, E. Wilson, Engines of Discovery: A Century of Particle Accelerators, Rev. edn. (World Scientific, Singapore, 2014), p. xiv–xvGoogle Scholar
  24. 24.
    CERN Answers Queries from Social Media, CERN, https://home.cern/resources/faqs/cern-answers-queries-social-media
  25. 25.
    B. Cox, In Defense of the LHC, Popular Science, https://www.popsci.com/scitech/article/2008-09/defense-lhc
  26. 26.
    S.L. Glashow, L.M. Lederman, The SSC: A Machine for the Nineties. Phys. Today 38(3), 32 (1985)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  27. 27.
    S. Carroll, The Particle at the End of the Universe (Plume, New York, 2012), pp. 274–275Google Scholar
  28. 28.
    S.L. Glashow, L.M. Lederman, The SSC: A Machine for the Nineties. Phys. Today 38(3), 34 (1985)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  29. 29.
    K. Vonnegut, Cat’s Cradle (Dial Press, New York, 2010), pp. 40–41Google Scholar
  30. 30.
    E. Kolbert, Crash Course, The New Yorker, https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2007/05/14/crash-course

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Switzerland AG 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  • Kristine Larsen
    • 1
  1. 1.Geological Sciences DepartmentCentral Connecticut State UniversityNew BritainUSA

Personalised recommendations