The Member States—An Unholy Alliance

  • Carl BaudenbacherEmail author
Part of the Springer Biographies book series (SPRINGERBIOGS)


All three EEA/EFTA States gained sovereignty relatively late in their history. After having lived under Danish rule since the 14th century, Norway was ceded to the King of Sweden in 1814 by the Treaty of Kiel. Denmark, for its part, had taken sides with Napoleon. Nevertheless, Norway declared independence, adopted a constitution and elected its own King. However, after a short war, it was obliged to enter into a personal union with the Swedish Crown. It was not until 1905 that the Union with Sweden was dissolved.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Switzerland AG 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Urumea AGSt. GallenSwitzerland

Personalised recommendations