EFTA Court Judge by Chance

  • Carl BaudenbacherEmail author
Part of the Springer Biographies book series (SPRINGERBIOGS)


On 1 May 1995, the Principality of Liechtenstein became an EEA Member State in the EFTA pillar. The Government thus had the right (and the duty) to nominate a member of the ESA College and a judge of the EFTA Court. The appointment was by common accord of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. The EFTA Court started functioning on 1 January 1994 with five judges from the EFTA States party to the EEA Agreement, namely Austria, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden. Switzerland signed the EEA Agreement on 2 May 1992, but was unable to ratify it after a negative referendum on 6 December 1992. Liechtenstein, which was part of a customs union with Switzerland, then postponed its ratification of the Agreement.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Switzerland AG 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Urumea AGSt. GallenSwitzerland

Personalised recommendations