• Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Uruguay was the last colony settled by Spain in the Americas. Part of the Spanish viceroyalty of Rio de la Plata until revolutionaries expelled the Spanish in 1811 and subsequently a province of Brazil, Uruguay declared independence on 25 Aug. 1825. Conflict between two political parties, the blancos (conservatives) and the Colorados (liberals) led, in 1865–70, to the War of the Triple Alliance. In 1903 peace was restored under the Colorados president José Batlle y Ordóñez.


Presidential Election Export Performance Parliamentary Election Military Dictatorship Environmental Sustainability Index 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Gonzalez, L. E., Political Structures and Democracy in Uruguay. Univ. of Notre Dame Press, 1992Google Scholar
  2. Sosowski, S. (ed.) Repression, Exile and Democracy: Uruguayan Culture. Duke Univ. Press, 1993Google Scholar
  3. National library: Biblioteca Nacional del Uruguay, 18 de julio de 1790, Montevideo.Google Scholar
  4. National Statistical Office: Instituto Nacional de Estadística (INE), Rio Negro 1520, Montevideo.Google Scholar
  5. Website (Spanish only):

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2007

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations