Nobel Prizes

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


When the scientist, industrialist and inventor Alfred Nobel died in 1896, he made provision in his will for his fortune to be used for prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature and Peace. The Norwegian Nobel Committee awards the Nobel Peace Prize, and the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm (founded 1900; Mailing address: Box 5232, SE-10245, Stockholm, Sweden) awards the other four prizes plus the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel (often referred to as the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences). The Prize Awarding Ceremony takes place on 10 Dec., the anniversary of Nobel’s death. The last ten recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize, worth 8m. Sw. kr. in 2013 (the same as 2012, which was down from 10m. Sw. kr. for the previous 11 years), are:
  • 2004 — Wangari Maathai (Kenya) for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace.

  • 2005 — Mohamed ElBaradei and the IAEA for their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2014

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations