Economic Co-operation Organization (ECO)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Economic Co-operation Organization (ECO) is an intergovernmental regional organization established in 1985 by Iran, Pakistan and Turkey and the successor of the Regional Cooperation for Development (RCD). ECO was expanded in 1992 to include seven new members: Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. The organization’s objectives, stipulated in its Charter, the Treaty of İzmir, include the promotion of conditions for sustained economic growth in the region. Transport and communications, trade and investment, and energy are the high priority areas in ECO’s scheme of work although industry, agriculture, health, science and education, drug control and human development are also on the agenda.


Member Country Solomon Island Consultative Committee Fiji Island High Priority Area 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2012

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations