• Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Kyrgyzstan became part of Soviet Turkestan, which itself became a Soviet Socialist Republic within the Russian Soviet Federal Socialist Republic (RSFSR) in April 1921. In 1924, when Central Asia was reorganized territorially on a national basis, Kyrgyzstan was separated from Turkestan. In Dec. 1936 Kyrgyzstan was proclaimed one of the constituent Soviet Socialist Republics of the USSR. With the collapse of the Soviet Empire, the republic asserted its claim to sovereignty in 1990 and declared independence in Sept. 1991. Askar Akayev became president in 1990 and subsequently expanded presidential powers. Kyrgyzstan became a member of the CIS in Dec. 1991.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Abazov, Rafs, Historical Dictionary of Kyrgyzstan. 2004Google Scholar
  2. Anderson, J., Kyrgyzstan: Central Asia’s Island of Democracy? 1999Google Scholar
  3. Marat, Erica, Te Tulip Revolution: Kyrgyzstan One Year Afer. 2006Google Scholar
  4. National Statistical Ofce: National Statistical Committee of the Kyrgyz Republic, 374 Frunze Street, Bishkek City 720033.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2011

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations