Nobel Peace Prize Winners: 1985–2009

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


When the scientist, industrialist and inventor Alfred Nobel died in 1896, he made provision in his will for his fortune to be used for prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature and Peace. A prize for Economics was added later. The Norwegian Nobel Committee awards the Nobel Peace Prize, and the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm (founded 1900; Mailing address: Box 5232, SE-10245, Stockholm, Sweden) awards the other five prizes. The Prize Awarding Ceremony takes place on 10 Dec, the anniversary of Nobel’s death. The last 25 recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize, worth 10m. Sw. kr. in 2009, are:

2009 — Barack Obama (USA) for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and co-operation between peoples.

2008 — Martti Ahtisaari (Finland) for his important efforts, on several continents and over more than three decades, to resolve international conflicts.

2007 — the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change and Al Gore for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change.

2006 — Muhammad Yunus and Grameen Bank of Bangladesh for their efforts to create economic and social development from below.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2010

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations