ASEAN-Mekong Basin Development Co-operation (Mekong Group)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The ministers and representatives of Brunei, Cambodia, China, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam met in Kuala Lumpur on 17 June 1996 and agreed the following basic objectives for the Group: to co-operate in the economic and social development of the Mekong Basin area and strengthen the link between it and ASEAN member countries, through a process of dialogue and common project identification.

Further Reading

  1. Beeson, Mark, Regionalism & Globalization in East Asia: Politics, Security & Economic Development. 2006.— Contemporary Southeast Asia. 2nd ed. 2008Google Scholar
  2. Broinowski, A., Understanding ASEAN. 1982.—(ed.) ASEAN into the 1990s. 1990Google Scholar
  3. Van Hoa, Tran, (ed.) Economic Developments and Prospects in the ASEAN. 1997Google Scholar
  4. Wawn, B., The Economics of the ASEAN Countries. 1982CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2009

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations