Central Bank of West African States (BCEAO)

  • Nick Heath-Brown
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Established in 1962, the Central Bank of West African States (Banque Centrale des Etats de l’Afrique de l’Ouest) is the common central bank of the eight member states that form the West African Monetary Union (WAMU). It has the sole right of currency issue throughout the Union territory and is responsible for the pooling of the Union’s foreign exchange reserve; the management of the monetary policy of the member states; the keeping of the accounts of the member states treasury; and the definition of the banking law applicable to banks and financial establishments.


Member State Monetary Policy Official Language Secretary General Political Risk 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© The Editor(s) 2015

Authors and Affiliations

  • Nick Heath-Brown

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations