Bank of Central African States (BEAC)

  • Nick Heath-Brown
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Bank of Central African States (Banque des Etats de l’Afrique Centrale) was established in 1973 when a new Convention of Monetary Co-operation with France was signed. The five original members, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of the Congo and Gabon, were joined by Equatorial Guinea in 1985. Under its Convention and statutes, the BEAC is declared a ‘Multinational African institution in the management and control of which France participates in return for the guarantee she provides for its currency’.


Official Language Central African Republic African State Free Trade Area African Union 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© The Editor(s) 2015

Authors and Affiliations

  • Nick Heath-Brown

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations