Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT)

  • Nick Heath-Brown
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons opened for signatories on 1 July 1968. It came into force on 5 March 1970. A review meeting takes place every five years. The initial treaty was limited to a 25-year term but it was extended indefinitely in 1995.


Nuclear Weapon Review Meeting American Enterprise Institute Nuclear Disarmament Antarctic Treaty 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© The Editor(s) 2015

Authors and Affiliations

  • Nick Heath-Brown

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations