Two Time-Frequency Ratio-Based Blind Source Separation Methods for Time-Delayed Mixtures

  • Matthieu Puigt
  • Yannick Deville
Part of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science book series (LNCS, volume 3889)


We propose two time-frequency (TF) blind source separation (BSS) methods suited to attenuated and delayed (AD) mixtures. They consist in identifying the columns of the (filtered permuted) mixing matrix in Constant-Time TF zones where they detect that a single source occurs, using TIme-Frequency Ratios Of Mixtures (hence their name AD-TIFROM-CT). We thus identify columns of scale coefficients and time shifts. Unlike various previously reported TF-BSS approaches, these methods set very limited constraints on the source sparsity and overlap. They are especially suited to non-stationary sources.


Time Shift Independent Component Analysis Blind Source Separation Analysis Zone Unwraped Phase 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    Hyvärinen, A., Karhunen, J., Oja, E.: Independent Component Analysis. Wiley-Interscience, New York (2001)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    Jourjine, A., Rickard, S., Yilmaz, O.: Blind separation of disjoint orthogonal signals: Demixing N sources from 2 mixtures. In: Proceedings of ICASSP 2000, June 5-9, vol. 5, pp. 2985–2988. IEEE Press, Istanbul (2000)Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    Abrard, F., Deville, Y.: A time-frequency blind signal separation method applicable to underdetermined mixtures of dependent sources. Signal Processing 85(7), 1389–1403 (2005)zbMATHCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    Deville, Y.: Temporal and time-frequency correlation-based blind source separation methods. In: Proceedings of ICA 2003, Nara, Japan, April 1-4, pp. 1059–1064 (2003)Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2006

Authors and Affiliations

  • Matthieu Puigt
    • 1
  • Yannick Deville
    • 1
  1. 1.Laboratoire d’Astrophysique de Toulouse-TarbesObservatoire Midi-Pyrénées – Université Paul Sabatier Toulouse 3ToulouseFrance

Personalised recommendations