Historical-Analytical Studies on Nature, Mind and Action

Book Series
There are 7 volumes in this series
Published 2016 - 2018

About this series

Historical-Analytical Studies on Nature, Mind and Action provides a forum for integrative, multidisciplinary, analytic studies in the areas of philosophy of nature, philosophical anthropology, and the philosophy of mind and action in their social setting. Tackling these subject areas from both a historical and contemporary systematic perspective, this approach allows for various “paradigm-straddlers” to come together under a common umbrella. Digging down to the conceptual-historical roots of contemporary problems, one will inevitably find common strands which have since branched out into isolated disciplines. This series seeks to fill the void for studies that reach beyond their own strictly defined boundaries not only synchronically (reaching out to contemporary disciplines), but also diachronically, by investigating the unquestioned contemporary presumptions of their own discipline by taking a look at the historical development of those presumptions and the key concepts they involve. This series, providing a common forum for this sort of research in a wide range of disciplines, is designed to work against the well-known phenomenon of disciplinary isolation by seeking answers to our fundamental questions of the human condition: What is there? -- What can we know about it? -- What should we do about it? -- indicated by the three key-words in the series title: Nature, Mind and Action. This series will publish monographs, edited volumes, revised doctorial theses and translations. Editor-in-Chief: Professor Gyula Klima, Fordham University Editors: Dr. Russell Wilcox, University of Navarra Professor Henrik Lagerlund, University of Western Ontario Professor Jonathan Jacobs, CUNY, John Jay College of Criminal Justice Advisory Board: Dan Bonevac University of Texas Sarah Borden, Wheaton College Edward Feser, Pasadena College Jorge Garcia, University of Buffalo William Jaworski, Fordham University Joseph E. Davis, University of Virginia Stephan Meier-Oeser, Academy of Sciences of Göttingen José Ignacio Murillo, University of Navarra Calvin Normore, UCLA Penelope Rush, University of Tasmania Jack Zupko, University of Alberta.