A Romantics Chronology, 1780–1832

  • Authors
  • Martin Garrett

Part of the Author Chronologies book series (ACH)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-ix
  2. Martin Garrett
    Pages 1-253
  3. Back Matter
    Pages 254-336

About this book


This book covers the life and work of a wide range of writers from Coleridge to Wollstonecraft, Hemans, Beckford and their contemporaries. Also encompassing a wealth of material on contexts from the treason trials of 1794 to the coming of gas-light to the London stage in 1817, it provides a panorama of one of the richest periods in British culture.


Romantics Romanticism Jane Austen Timeline William Beckford George Gordon Lord Byron Amelia Opie Sir Walter Scott Mary Shelley Percy Bysshe Shelley William Wordsworth Dorothy Wordsworth Samuel Taylor Coleridge George Crabbe Mary Wollstonecraft William Godwin Felicia Hemans L.E.L. (Letitia Elizabeth Landon) John Keats Coleridge Wordsworth

Bibliographic information

  • DOI https://doi.org/10.1057/9781137273277
  • Copyright Information The Editor(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2016
  • Publisher Name Palgrave Macmillan, London
  • eBook Packages Literature, Cultural and Media Studies
  • Print ISBN 978-1-349-55269-6
  • Online ISBN 978-1-137-27327-7
  • About this book