© 2012

Reading T.S. Eliot

Four Quartets and the Journey toward Understanding

  • Authors

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-ix
  2. G. Douglas Atkins
    Pages 1-25
  3. G. Douglas Atkins
    Pages 27-43
  4. G. Douglas Atkins
    Pages 45-60
  5. G. Douglas Atkins
    Pages 61-77
  6. G. Douglas Atkins
    Pages 99-121
  7. G. Douglas Atkins
    Pages 123-145
  8. Back Matter
    Pages 147-185

About this book


This book offers an exciting new approach to T.S. Eliot's Four Quartets as it shows why it should be read both closely and in relation to Eliot's other works, notably the poems The Waste Land, 'The Hollow Men,' and Ash-Wednesday.


design event George Eliot god love pattern poem quartet rose understanding

About the authors

G. DOUGLAS ATKINS Professor of English at the University of Kansas, USA.

Bibliographic information


"Reading T.S. Eliot is original - part creative, part scholarly - and, perhaps most importantly, human." - Tod Marshall, Professor of English, Gonzaga University, USA