© 2007

An Iris Murdoch Chronology

  • Authors

Part of the Author Chronologies book series (ACH)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xix
  2. Valerie Purton
    Pages 1-218
  3. Valerie Purton
    Pages 219-237
  4. Back Matter
    Pages 238-256

About this book


Iris Murdoch was the author of twenty-six bestselling novels. Her many love affairs, her war-work with UNRRA, her move from early communism to Thatcherism, her later life as a secular saint, her sad decline from Alzheimer's - all these events are detailed in this accessible chronological account of a world-famous and much loved British writer.


access bibliography chronology communism event love novel Thatcher

About the authors

VALERIE PURTON is a Senior Lecturer at Anglia Ruskin University, Cambridge, UK. She is the author of A Coleridge Chronology (1993) and (with Christopher Sturman) of Poems by Two Brothers (1993). She has also edited Dickens's Dombey and Son (1996) and Landscape and Friendship (2000).

Bibliographic information


'This title would be a useful addition to any university library supporting courses in contemporary fiction, women's writing and philosophy. The popular appeal of Murdoch's writing may also make this title of interest to public libraries.' - Linda Kemp, Reference Reviews