© 2006

A Chronology of the Byzantine Empire

  • Editors
  • Timothy Venning

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xxv
  2. Timothy Venning
    Pages 1-1
  3. Timothy Venning
    Pages 3-8
  4. Timothy Venning
    Pages 75-143
  5. Timothy Venning
    Pages 145-268
  6. Timothy Venning
    Pages 269-392
  7. Timothy Venning
    Pages 393-549
  8. Timothy Venning
    Pages 551-598
  9. Timothy Venning
    Pages 599-736
  10. Back Matter
    Pages 737-817

About this book


This work provides a clear and comprehensive chronology of the Eastern Roman Empire from the foundation of Constantinople in 324 AD to the extinction of the last Byzantine principality in 1461 AD, ultimately shedding light on a once-obscure period of Eastern Mediterranean and Balkan history whose events still resonate in world politics.

About the authors

TIMOTHY VENNING is a freelance researcher and has published Cromwellian Foreign Policy (Macmillan) and also worked on the New Dictionary of National Biography (Oxford University Press).

JONATHAN HARRIS is Senior Lecturer in Byzantine History at Royal Holloway, University of London. His publications include Greek Émigrés in the West, 1400-1520 (1995), Byzantium and the Crusades (2003) and, as editor, Palgrave Advances in Byzantine History (2005). His research interests centre on the relations between Byzantium and Western Europe, particularly during the Crusades and the Italian Renaissance.

Bibliographic information

  • Book Title A Chronology of the Byzantine Empire
  • Authors T. Venning
    J. Harris
  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2006
  • Publisher Name Palgrave Macmillan, London
  • eBook Packages Palgrave History Collection History (R0)
  • Hardcover ISBN 978-1-4039-1774-4
  • Softcover ISBN 978-1-349-51365-9
  • eBook ISBN 978-0-230-50586-5
  • Edition Number 1
  • Number of Pages XXVI, 817
  • Number of Illustrations 6 b/w illustrations, 0 illustrations in colour
  • Topics History of Britain and Ireland
  • Buy this book on publisher's site