Norman Mailer’s Later Fictions

Ancient Evenings through Castle in the Forest

  • Editors
  • John Whalen-Bridge

Part of the American Literature Readings in the 21st Century book series (ALTC)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xiii
  2. Absolutely Dauntless: A Quarter-Century of Sex, God, Politics, and Fame

  3. Sex

  4. God

  5. Politics

  6. Fame

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 157-157
    2. Norris Mailer
      Pages 193-194
  7. Back Matter
    Pages 195-203

About this book


Norman Mailer s Later Fiction considers five works - Ancient Evenings (1983), Tough Guys Don t Dance (1984), Harlot's Ghost (1991), The Gospel According to the Son (1997), The Castle in the Forest (2007) - to examine, for the first time in a full volume, Mailer s literary maturity. Essays from esteemed scholars, Mailer's wife, andeditor, discuss Mailer s modes of cultural critique, connecting his political, theological, sexual, and aesthetic insights. This book will be essential reading for all Mailer scholars and offers provocative insights in such areas as postmodern American writing, masculinity studies, and the developing interface of literary and religious studies.


America fiction novel

Bibliographic information