© 2003

A Brontë Family Chronology

  • Authors

Part of the Author Chronologies Series book series (ACH)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xii
  2. Edward Chitham
    Pages 1-7
  3. Edward Chitham
    Pages 8-285
  4. Back Matter
    Pages 286-318

About this book


This new addition to Palgrave Macmillan's Author Chronologies Series details events in the lives of the Brontë sisters and their associates. Major events such as the publication of history of their works are included, and are balanced by details of Brontë domestic life. There are original discussions, in the light of chronology, of the scandal affecting the Brontë's brother, Branwell, and the imaginary kingdoms shared by all four children.


bibliography Bronte chronology event history history of literature kingdom knowledge

About the authors

EDWARD CHITHAM has lectured at the universities of Wolverhampton and Warwick, and Newman College, and is currently a tutor at the Open University. He has written a number of books on the Brontës, including The Birth of Wuthering Heights (Palgrave Macmillan, 2001), and was formerly the editor of the Brontë Society Transactions.

Bibliographic information


'Chitham is scrupulous in documenting every one of the many thousands of events listed, and...about noting any doubt or uncertainty in dating events...For the peak years of Brontë activity, many days a month are itemized...[The book] should become a standard desk and library resource for all who study the Brontës in depth.' - Bob Duckett, Editor, Brontë Studies