Practice of Spinal Surgery

  • Henry Vernon Crock

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages I-XX
  2. Henry Vernon Crock
    Pages 1-2
  3. Henry Vernon Crock
    Pages 3-34
  4. Henry Vernon Crock
    Pages 35-92
  5. Henry Vernon Crock
    Pages 93-122
  6. Henry Vernon Crock
    Pages 123-134
  7. Henry Vernon Crock
    Pages 135-155
  8. Henry Vernon Crock
    Pages 157-178
  9. Henry Vernon Crock
    Pages 179-221
  10. Henry Vernon Crock
    Pages 223-241
  11. Henry Vernon Crock
    Pages 243-264
  12. Back Matter
    Pages 299-321

About this book

Introduction

It is not long since surgery of the spine dealt with fracture-dislocation and tuberculosis, little else. With the advent of contrast X-ray and anatomical study a wide range of disease entities has been categorized and become the subject of corrective and ameliorative treatment. The principal author of the present book has played a distinguished part in widening knowledge of the anatomy of the bones, ligaments, blood vessels, neural features and the natural history of diseases relevant to hard structure disorder. He has done this in relation to the development of highly refined surgical techniques based strictly upon structural requirements in relation to the disease processes under treatment. The result is a comprehensive account of his integrative conceptualisation and the relevant principles of the methods used. His component, the major part of the book, is in the tradition of John Hunter, Bland Sutton, Kanavel and others who improved their understanding and treatment by the discipline enforced by the discipline of basic investigation. In the era of proliferation of specialties and books of single author chapters it is refreshing to meet one man's mind extended. By Sir George Bedbrook adding the fruits of his years of experience and thought about the treatment of spinal injury the book is enriched. As the best of two investigative practitioners, it reflects the best features of the surgical calling and should be studied not only for its material but especially for its reflection of high professional endeavour.

Keywords

Wirbelsäulenchirurgie spinal surgery spine surgery

Authors and affiliations

  • Henry Vernon Crock
    • 1
  1. 1.St. Vincent’s HospitalUniversity of MelbourneAustralia

Bibliographic information

  • DOI https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-7091-3335-4
  • Copyright Information Springer-Verlag Vienna 1983
  • Publisher Name Springer, Vienna
  • eBook Packages Springer Book Archive
  • Print ISBN 978-3-7091-3337-8
  • Online ISBN 978-3-7091-3335-4
  • About this book