Delta-4: A Generic Architecture for Dependable Distributed Computing

  • David Powell

Part of the Research Reports ESPRIT book series (ESPRIT, volume 1)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages I-X
  2. David Powell
    Pages 1-7
  3. David Powell
    Pages 9-29
  4. David Powell
    Pages 31-41
  5. David Powell
    Pages 43-69
  6. David Powell
    Pages 71-88
  7. David Powell
    Pages 89-124
  8. David Powell
    Pages 165-210
  9. David Powell
    Pages 211-266
  10. David Powell
    Pages 267-294
  11. David Powell
    Pages 307-327
  12. David Powell
    Pages 329-350
  13. David Powell
    Pages 351-369
  14. David Powell
    Pages 371-406
  15. Back Matter
    Pages 407-484

About this book


Delta-4 is a 5-nation, 13-partner project that has been investigating the achievement of dependability in open distributed systems, including real-time systems. This book describes the design and validation of the distributed fault-tolerant architecture developed within this project. The key features of the Delta-4 architecture are: (a) a distributed object-oriented application support environment; (b) built-in support for user-transparent fault­ tolerance; (c) use of multicast or group communication protocols; and (d) use of standard off­ the-shelf processors and standard local area network technology with minimum specialized hardware. The book is organized as follows: The first 3 chapters give an overview of the architecture's objectives and of the architecture itself, and compare the proposed solutions with other approaches. Chapters 4 to 12 give a more detailed insight into the Delta-4 architectural concepts. Chapters 4 and 5 are devoted to providing a firm set of general concepts and terminology regarding dependable and real-time computing. Chapter 6 is centred on fault-tolerance techniques based on distribution. The description of the architecture itself commences with a description of the Delta-4 application support environment (Deltase) in chapter 7. Two variants of the architecture - the Delta-4 Open System Architecture (OSA) and the Delta-4 Extra Performance Architecture (XPA) - are described respectively in chapters 8 and 9. Both variants of the architecture have a common underlying basis for dependable multicasting, i. e.


Echtzeitsysteme Fehlertoleranz Hardware Interface Local Area Network Offene Systeme UNIX communication communication system distributed computing distributed systems fault-tolerance open systems real-time systems reliability

Editors and affiliations

  • David Powell
    • 1
  1. 1.LAAS-CNRSToulouseFrance

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 1991
  • Publisher Name Springer, Berlin, Heidelberg
  • eBook Packages Springer Book Archive
  • Print ISBN 978-3-540-54985-7
  • Online ISBN 978-3-642-84696-0
  • Buy this book on publisher's site