Roots of Modern Technology

An Elegant Survey of the Basic Mathematical and Scientific Concepts

  • Siegfried Wendt

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
  2. Explaining Modern Technology

    1. Siegfried Wendt
      Pages 1-9
  3. Part I: Fundamentals of Mathematics and Logic

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 11-11
    2. Siegfried Wendt
      Pages 81-108
    3. Siegfried Wendt
      Pages 109-130
    4. Siegfried Wendt
      Pages 131-143
  4. Part II: Fundamentals of Natural Sciences

  5. Part III: Fundamentals of Engineering

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 345-345
    2. Siegfried Wendt
      Pages 347-388
  6. Back Matter

About this book


If the ancient Greek philosopher Socrates came to life again today, he would wonder how airplanes fly and light bulbs glow, but not wonder much about the world’s political and social changes that took place since his time. The author puts himself in the position of explaining to Socrates the technological fundamentals behind all our modern conveniences . Since he takes Socrates seriously, the author accepts the challenge of introducing the relevant mathematical and technical concepts, and he does so in a remarkably easy-tounderstand and accurate way. The result is a comprehensive overview of the elements of our technical civilization, an overview properly based upon elementary but solid mathematical and scientific principles. Everyone with an inclination toward science and technology can take advantage of the clear structure, the comprehensive presentation and the many wonderfully-illustrated examples of the book.


Natur Natural Sciences electrical engineering logic mathematics science technology

Authors and affiliations

  • Siegfried Wendt
    • 1
  1. 1.Hasso-Planttner-Institut für SoftwaresystemtechnikKaiserslauternGermany

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2010
  • Publisher Name Springer, Berlin, Heidelberg
  • eBook Packages Engineering
  • Print ISBN 978-3-642-12061-9
  • Online ISBN 978-3-642-12062-6
  • Buy this book on publisher's site