© 2008

New Stream Cipher Designs

The eSTREAM Finalists

  • Editors
  • Matthew Robshaw
  • Olivier Billet

Part of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science book series (LNCS, volume 4986)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
  2. Matthew Robshaw
    Pages 1-6
  3. Makoto Matsumoto, Mutsuo Saito, Takuji Nishimura, Mariko Hagita
    Pages 7-19
  4. Ed Dawson, Matt Henricksen, Leonie Simpson
    Pages 20-38
  5. Hongjun Wu
    Pages 39-47
  6. Alex Biryukov
    Pages 48-56
  7. Philip Hawkes, Cameron McDonald, Michael Paddon, Gregory G. Rose, Miriam Wiggers de Vries
    Pages 57-68
  8. Martin Boesgaard, Mette Vesterager, Erik Zenner
    Pages 69-83
  9. Daniel J. Bernstein
    Pages 84-97
  10. Côme Berbain, Olivier Billet, Anne Canteaut, Nicolas Courtois, Henri Gilbert, Louis Goubin et al.
    Pages 98-118
  11. Christophe De Cannière
    Pages 119-139
  12. Côme Berbain, Olivier Billet, Anne Canteaut, Nicolas Courtois, Blandine Debraize, Henri Gilbert et al.
    Pages 140-151
  13. Danilo Gligoroski, Smile Markovski, Svein Johan Knapskog
    Pages 152-169
  14. François Arnault, Thierry Berger, Cédric Lauradoux
    Pages 170-178
  15. Martin Hell, Thomas Johansson, Alexander Maximov, Willi Meier
    Pages 179-190
  16. Steve Babbage, Matthew Dodd
    Pages 191-209
  17. Joan Daemen, Paris Kitsos
    Pages 210-223
  18. Cees J. A. Jansen, Tor Helleseth, Alexander Kholosha
    Pages 224-243
  19. Christophe De Cannière, Bart Preneel
    Pages 244-266
  20. Tim Good, Mohammed Benaissa
    Pages 267-293

About this book


This state-of-the-art survey presents the outcome of the eSTREAM Project, which was launched in 2004 as part of ECRYPT, the European Network of Excellence in Cryptology (EU Framework VI).

The goal of eSTREAM was to promote the design of new stream ciphers with a particular emphasis on algorithms that would be either very fast in software or very resource-efficient in hardware. Algorithm designers were invited to submit new stream cipher proposals to eSTREAM, and 34 candidates were proposed from around the world. Over the following years the submissions were assessed with regard to both security and practicality by the cryptographic community, and the results were presented at major conferences and specialized workshops dedicated to the state of the art of stream ciphers.

This volume describes the most successful of the submitted designs and, over 16 chapters, provides full specifications of the ciphers that reached the final phase of the eSTREAM project. The book is rounded off by two implementation surveys covering both the software- and the hardware-oriented finalists.  


AES algorithm design algorithms authenticated encryption authentication cryptanalysis cryptographic protocols cryptography hardware applications keyed hash functions latin square mersenne twister nonlinear filter pairing-based cryptography privacy

Bibliographic information

  • Book Title New Stream Cipher Designs
  • Book Subtitle The eSTREAM Finalists
  • Editors Matthew Robshaw
    Olivier Billet
  • Series Title Lecture Notes in Computer Science
  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2008
  • Publisher Name Springer, Berlin, Heidelberg
  • eBook Packages Computer Science Computer Science (R0)
  • Softcover ISBN 978-3-540-68350-6
  • eBook ISBN 978-3-540-68351-3
  • Series ISSN 0302-9743
  • Series E-ISSN 1611-3349
  • Edition Number 1
  • Number of Pages VIII, 300
  • Number of Illustrations 0 b/w illustrations, 0 illustrations in colour
  • Topics Programming Techniques
    Data Structures and Information Theory
  • Buy this book on publisher's site