Skip to main content

The Abel Prize 2013-2017

  • Book
  • © 2019


  • Presents the laureates of the third five year period of the Abel Prize, which is one of the premier international prizes in mathematics
  • Autobiographical essay by each laureate, followed by an extensive review of their work
  • Two of the Laureates (John Nash and Andrew Wiles) are known to a very wide audience also outside mathematics
  • Interesting photographs

Part of the book series: The Abel Prize (AP)

This is a preview of subscription content, log in via an institution to check access.

Access this book

Subscribe and save

Springer+ Basic
EUR 32.99 /Month
  • Get 10 units per month
  • Download Article/Chapter or eBook
  • 1 Unit = 1 Article or 1 Chapter
  • Cancel anytime
Subscribe now

Buy Now

eBook USD 129.00
Price excludes VAT (USA)
  • Available as EPUB and PDF
  • Read on any device
  • Instant download
  • Own it forever
Hardcover Book USD 169.99
Price excludes VAT (USA)
  • Durable hardcover edition
  • Dispatched in 3 to 5 business days
  • Free shipping worldwide - see info

Tax calculation will be finalised at checkout

Other ways to access

Licence this eBook for your library

Institutional subscriptions

About this book

The book presents the winners of the Abel Prize in mathematics for the period 2013–17: Pierre Deligne (2013); Yakov G. Sinai (2014); John Nash Jr. and Louis Nirenberg (2015); Sir Andrew Wiles (2016); and Yves Meyer (2017).

The profiles feature autobiographical information as well as a scholarly description of each mathematician’s work. In addition, each profile contains a Curriculum Vitae, a complete bibliography, and the full citation from the prize committee.  

The book also includes photos for the period 2003–2017 showing many of the additional activities connected with the Abel Prize.

As an added feature, video interviews with the Laureates as well as videos from the prize ceremony are provided at an accompanying website (

This book follows on The Abel Prize: 2003-2007. The First Five Years (Springer, 2010) and The Abel Prize 2008-2012 (Springer 2014), which profile the work of the previous Abel Prize winners.

Similar content being viewed by others


Table of contents (33 chapters)

  1. Part I

  2. Part II

  3. Part III


“There is a lot to learn from the autobiographies, and the expository essays are mostly very good as well, and definitely worth reading. Future historians will use these books as historical sources, but we can use them now to learn more about people we admire.” (Fernando Gouvea, MAA Reviews, April 16, 2019)

Editors and Affiliations

  • Department of Mathematical Sciences, NTNU Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway

    Helge Holden

  • Department of Mathematics, University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway

    Ragni Piene

About the editors

The editors have been involved with the Abel Prize since its very beginning.  Helge Holden served as chair of the Abel Board (2010–2014) while Ragni Piene served as chair of the Abel Committee (2010–2014). Both have served on the Executive Committee of the International Mathematical Union.

Bibliographic Information

Publish with us