Advertisement

Insurgency and Counter-Insurgency in Turkey

The New PKK

  • Spyridon Plakoudas

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xvii
  2. Spyridon Plakoudas
    Pages 1-6
  3. Spyridon Plakoudas
    Pages 7-27
  4. Spyridon Plakoudas
    Pages 29-41
  5. Spyridon Plakoudas
    Pages 43-58
  6. Spyridon Plakoudas
    Pages 59-74
  7. Spyridon Plakoudas
    Pages 75-80
  8. Back Matter
    Pages 81-100

About this book

Introduction

For readers of Strategy and IR and researchers on the Middle East, the intermittent war between the PKK and Turkey (1984–present) forms the ideal case study as every possible outcome (military victory, peace negotiations and stalemate) and aspect (terrorism, insurgency and civil unrest) of ethnic civil wars have manifested over the years. This monograph offers an up-to-date analysis of an irregular conflict (2004–2017) which spilled over to neighbouring states since 2011 and continues to shape the Middle East through the lens of Strategic Studies. 

Spyridon Plakoudas is Assistant Professor in Strategy and IR at the American University in the Emirates and Vice President of the think tank KEDISA. 

Keywords

Kurdish minority in Turkey insurgency of the PKK Kurdish Question in Turkey Operation “Euphrates Shield” Turkey’s war on terror against ISIS and PKK

Authors and affiliations

  • Spyridon Plakoudas
    • 1
  1. 1.American University in the EmiratesDubaiUnited Arab Emirates

Bibliographic information