Low Temperature Physics-LT 13

Volume 1: Quantum Fluids

  • K. D. Timmerhaus
  • W. J. O’Sullivan
  • E. F. Hammel

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xvi
  2. Fritz London Award Address

    1. A. A. Abrikosov
      Pages 1-6
  3. Quantum Fluids

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 7-7
    2. Plenary Topics

      1. J. G. Dash
        Pages 19-25
      2. David O. Edwards
        Pages 26-35
    3. Quantum Fluids Theory

      1. S. G. Eckstein, D. Friedlander, C. G. Kuper
        Pages 54-56
      2. James S. Brooks, Russell J. Donnelly
        Pages 57-60
      3. Chia-Wei Woo
        Pages 72-75
      4. Y. Imry, David J. Bergman, L. Gunther
        Pages 80-83
      5. T. Horiguchi, T. Tanaka
        Pages 87-91
      6. M. Le Ray, J. P. Deroyon, M. J. Deroyon, M. Francois, F. Vidal
        Pages 96-100

About this book


The 13th International Conference on Low Temperature Physics, organized by the National Bureau of Standards, Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory, and the University of Colorado, was held in Boulder, Colorado, August 21 to 25, 1972, and was sponsored by the National Science Foundation, the U. S. Army Office of Scientific Research, the U. S. Atomic Energy Commission, the U. S. Navy Office of Naval Research, the International Institute of Refrigeration, and the Internation­ al Union of Pure and Applied Physics. This international conference was the latest in a series of biennial conferences on low temperature physics, the first of which was held at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1949. (For a complete list of previous L T conferences see p. viii. Many of these past conferences have been coordinated and sponsored by the Commission on Very Low Temperatures of IUPAP. Subsequent LT conferences will be scheduled triennially beginning in 1975. LT 13 was attended by approximately 1015 participants from twenty five countries. Eighteen plenary lectures and 550 contributed papers were presented at the Conference. The Conference began with brief introductory and welcoming remarks by Dr. R. H. Kropschot on behalf of the Organizing Committee, Professor J. Bardeen on behalf of the Commission on Very Low Temperatures of the IUP AP, and Pro­ fessor O. V. Lounasmaa on behalf of the International Institute of Refrigeration. The eighth London Award was then presented by Professor E.


applied physics crystal diffusion dispersion electron energy equation of state low temperature low temperature physics neutron diffraction paper physics scattering temperature vortices

Editors and affiliations

  • K. D. Timmerhaus
    • 1
    • 2
  • W. J. O’Sullivan
    • 1
  • E. F. Hammel
    • 3
  1. 1.University of ColoradoBoulderUSA
  2. 2.National Science FoundationUSA
  3. 3.Los Alamos Scientific LaboratoryUniversity of CaliforniaLos AlamosUSA

Bibliographic information

  • DOI https://doi.org/10.1007/978-1-4684-7864-8
  • Copyright Information Springer Science+Business Media New York 1974
  • Publisher Name Springer, Boston, MA
  • eBook Packages Springer Book Archive
  • Print ISBN 978-1-4684-7866-2
  • Online ISBN 978-1-4684-7864-8
  • About this book