Physics of Disordered Materials

  • David Adler
  • Hellmut Fritzsche
  • Stanford R. Ovshinsky

Part of the Institute for Amorphous Studies Series book series (IASS)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xviii
  2. General Aspects

    1. D. Weaire, F. Wooten
      Pages 1-8
    2. J. D. Joannopoulos
      Pages 19-35
    3. M. F. Thorpe
      Pages 55-61
    4. S. F. Edwards, T. Vilgis
      Pages 63-72
  3. Elements of Disorder

    1. Jean-François Sadoc
      Pages 107-121
    2. Mihai A. Popescu
      Pages 123-142
    3. Edward A. Stern
      Pages 143-150
    4. Arthur Bienenstock, Alice Fischer-Colbrie, Robert Lorentz, Karl Ludwig, Lane Wilson
      Pages 151-158
    5. G. N. Greaves, X. L. Jiang, S. R. Elliott, T. Fowler
      Pages 189-201

About this book


This volume and its two companion volumes, entitled Tetrahedrally-Bonded Amorphous Semiconductors and Localization and Metal-Insulator Transitions, are our way of paying special tribute to Sir Nevill Mott and to express our heartfelt wishes to him on the occasion of his eightieth birthday. Sir Nevill has set the highest standards as a physicist, teacher, and scientific leader. Our feelings for him include not only the respect and admiration due a great scientist, but also a deep affection for a great human being, who possesses a rare combination of outstanding personal qualities. We thank him for enriching our lives, and we shall forever carry cherished memories of this noble man. Scientists best express their thanks by contributing their thoughts and observations to a Festschrift. This one honoring Sir Nevill fills three volumes, with literally hundreds of authors meeting a strict deadline. The fact that contributions poured in from all parts of the world attests to the international cohesion of our scientific community. It is a tribute to Sir Nevill's stand for peace and understanding, transcending national borders. The editors wish to express their gratitude to Ghazaleh Koefod for her diligence and expertise in deciphering and typing many of the papers, as well as helping in numerous other ways. The blame for the errors that remain belongs to the editors.


X-ray absorption spectroscopy chemistry cohesion crystal electron magnetism paper phase transition physics scattering semiconductor spectroscopy

Editors and affiliations

  • David Adler
    • 1
  • Hellmut Fritzsche
    • 2
  • Stanford R. Ovshinsky
    • 3
  1. 1.Massachusetts Institute of TechnologyCambridgeUSA
  2. 2.University of ChicagoChicagoUSA
  3. 3.Energy Conversion Devices, IncTroyUSA

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Springer-Verlag US 1985
  • Publisher Name Springer, Boston, MA
  • eBook Packages Springer Book Archive
  • Print ISBN 978-1-4612-9519-8
  • Online ISBN 978-1-4613-2513-0
  • About this book