Reform Processes and Policy Change

Veto Players and Decision-Making in Modern Democracies

  • Thomas König
  • Marc Debus
  • George Tsebelis

Part of the Studies in Public Choice book series (SIPC, volume 16)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-x
  2. Introduction

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 1-1
  3. Identification of Veto Players

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 19-19
    2. Thomas König, Bernd Luig, Sven-Oliver Proksch, Jonathan B. Slapin
      Pages 69-95
  4. Interpretation of Veto Players

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 97-97
    2. Wolfgang C. Müller, Thomas M. Meyer
      Pages 99-124
    3. Thomas Bräuninger, Marc Debus
      Pages 145-164
    4. Thomas König, Dirk Junge
      Pages 165-186
  5. Modelling of Veto Players

  6. Conclusion

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 267-267

About this book


George Tsebelis’ veto players approach has become a prominent theory to analyze various research questions in political science. Studies that apply veto player theory deal with the impact of institutions and partisan preferences of legislative activity and policy outcomes. It is used to measure the degree of policy change and, thus, reform capacity in national and international political systems. This volume contains the analysis of leading scholars in the field on these topics and more recent developments regarding theoretical and empirical progress in the area of political reform-making. The contributions come from research areas of political science where veto player theory plays a significant role, including, positive political theory, legislative behavior and legislative decision-making in national and supra-national political systems, policy making and government formation. The contributors to this book add to the current scholarly and public debate on the role of veto players, making it of interest to scholars in political science and policy studies as well as policymakers worldwide.


Legislative Activity Policy-Making Reform Veto Player

Editors and affiliations

  • Thomas König
    • 1
  • Marc Debus
    • 2
  • George Tsebelis
    • 3
  1. 1.Department of Political ScienceUniversity of MannheimMannheimGermany
  2. 2.Mannheim Center for European ResearchUniversity of MannheimMannheimGermany
  3. 3.Dept. Political ScienceUniversity of MichiganAnn ArborUSA

Bibliographic information