Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
  2. Jan Terlouw, Chris Fielding
    Pages 1-9
  3. Georg Grübel, Hans-Dieter Joos
    Pages 13-21
  4. Lester Faleiro, Jean-François Magni, Jesús M. de la Cruz, Stefano Scala
    Pages 22-32
  5. Francesco Amato, Massimiliano Mattei, Stefano Scala
    Pages 33-41
  6. Germain Garcia, Jacques Bernussou, Jamal Daafouz, Denis Arzelier
    Pages 42-51
  7. Mark R. Tucker, Daniel J. Walker
    Pages 52-63
  8. George Papageorgiou, Keith Glover, Alex Smerlas, Ian Postlethwaite
    Pages 64-80
  9. Samir Bennani, Gertjan Looye, Carsten Scherer
    Pages 81-101
  10. Binh Dang Vu
    Pages 102-111
  11. Ewan Muir
    Pages 112-115
  12. Holger Duda, Gerhard Bouwer, J.-Michael Bauschat, Klaus-Uwe Hahn
    Pages 116-124
  13. Jan M. Maciejowski, Mihai Huzmezan
    Pages 125-134
  14. Gerard Schram, Uzay Kaymak, Henk B. Verbruggen
    Pages 135-145
  15. Paul Lambrechts, Samir Bennani, Gertjan Looye, Dieter Moormann
    Pages 149-179
  16. Jim Gautrey
    Pages 180-198
  17. Hans-Dieter Joos
    Pages 199-217
  18. Lester Faleiro, Roger Pratt
    Pages 218-237
  19. Jesús M. de la Cruz, Pablo Ruipérez, Joaquín Aranda
    Pages 238-257
  20. Carsten Döll, Jean-François Magni, Yann Le Gorrec
    Pages 258-277
  21. Jamal Daafouz, Denis Arzelier, Germain Garcia, Jacques Bernussou
    Pages 278-299
  22. Mark R. Tucker, Daniel J. Walker
    Pages 300-320
  23. Samir Bennani, Gertjan Looye
    Pages 321-340
  24. Jan Schuring, Rob M. P. Goverde
    Pages 341-359
  25. Holger Duda, Gerhard Bouwer, J. Michael Bauschat, Klaus-Uwe Hahn
    Pages 360-378
  26. Mihai Huzmezan, Jan M. Maciejowski
    Pages 379-396
  27. Gerard Schram, Henk B. Verbruggen
    Pages 397-416
  28. Francesco Amato, Massimiliano Mattei, Stefano Scala, Leopoldo Verde
    Pages 444-463
  29. George Papageorgiou, Keith Glover, Rick A. Hyde
    Pages 464-483
  30. Karin Ståhl Gunnarsson
    Pages 484-502
  31. Béatrice Escande
    Pages 523-540
  32. C. Fielding, R. Luckner
    Pages 567-602
  33. Samir Bennani, Jean-François Magni, Jan Terlouw
    Pages 610-611
  34. Back Matter

About these proceedings


In October 1994, 22 organisations throughout Europe accepted a challenge to solve a specific robust flight control design problem. The results of that design challenge, presented at the GARTEUR Specialists' Workshop in Toulouse, France in April 1997, are reported here. Two flight control benchmarks are considered, based on the automatic landing phase of a large cargo aircraft and on the control of a military aircraft. Methods applied include: classical control; multi-objective optimisation; eigenstructure assignment; modal multi-model approach; LQ, Lyapunov and H¿-techniques; ¿-synthesis; nonlinear dynamic inversion; robust inverse dynamics estimation; model predictive control and following; and fuzzy control. Involved in the definition of the benchmarks and the evaluation process have been representatives from the European aeronautical industry, bringing a strong link with flight control law design practice.


Europe control control design design dynamics fuzzy fuzzy control industry model model predictive control optimization organization phase stability structure

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Springer-Verlag 1997
  • Publisher Name Springer, Berlin, Heidelberg
  • eBook Packages Springer Book Archive
  • Print ISBN 978-3-540-76151-8
  • Online ISBN 978-3-540-40941-0
  • Series Print ISSN 0170-8643
  • Series Online ISSN 1610-7411
  • Buy this book on publisher's site