© 2020

Nanomaterials in Biofuels Research

  • Manish Srivastava
  • Neha Srivastava
  • P. K. Mishra
  • Vijai Kumar Gupta

Part of the Clean Energy Production Technologies book series (CEPT)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xiii
  2. Ajay Kumar Chauhan
    Pages 1-28
  3. Muhammad Irfan, Mamoona Saeed, Bushra Iqbal, Misbah Ghazanfar
    Pages 29-52
  4. Mohammad Khajeh Mehrizi, Zahra Shahi
    Pages 53-73
  5. T. C. Mokhena, M. J. John, M. A. Sibeko, V. C. Agbakoba, M. J. Mochane, A. Mtibe et al.
    Pages 115-141
  6. Veer Singh, Vipul Kumar Yadav, Vishal Mishra
    Pages 143-160
  7. Veena Paul, Prasad Rasane, Kajal Dhawan, Abhishek Dutt Tripathi
    Pages 161-190
  8. Misbah Ghazanfar, Muhammad Irfan
    Pages 275-307

About this book


As renewable energy sources, biofuels have tremendous potential to replace fossil fuels in future energy scenarios, offering green alternative energy sources. However, though such fuels could mean a significant reduction in environmental pollution, they are still far from practical implementation due to their high production costs and technical issues.

Consequently, efforts are being made around the globe to achieve the cost-effective production of biofuels. In this context, the use of nanomaterials to improve biofuels production efficiency is a vital, emerging area. Nanomaterials are attracting attention due to their versatile physicochemical properties and may improve the production process for various biofuels by acting as catalysts.  However, this area is still in its infancy. To improve the practical viability of  the biofuels production process, it is essential to focus on the specific type of nanomaterial used, its synthesis, and its specific effects on the process parameters. 

This book explores the potential advantages and feasibility of various aspects of nanomaterials with regard to improving the current biofuels production process, making it a valuable resource for a broad readership.


Microbial fermentation Biofuels Fermentable sugar Nanomaterials Nanocatalyst

Editors and affiliations

  • Manish Srivastava
    • 1
  • Neha Srivastava
    • 2
  • P. K. Mishra
    • 3
  • Vijai Kumar Gupta
    • 4
  1. 1.Department of Physics and Astrophysics, University of Delhi, Delhi, India, Department of Chemical Engineering and TechnologyIIT (BHU)VaranasiIndia
  2. 2.Department of Chemical Engineering and TechnologyIIT (BHU)VaranasiIndia
  3. 3.Department of Chemical Engineering and TechnologyIIT (BHU)VaranasiIndia
  4. 4.Department of Chemistry and Biotechnology, Tallinn University of Technology, Tallinn, Estonia, ERA Chair VALORTECHEstonian University of Life SciencesTartuEstonia

About the editors

Dr. Neha Srivastava

Neha Srivastava is currently working as Post-doctorate fellow in Department of Chemical Engineering and Technology, IIT (BHU) Varanasi, India. She has published 25 research articles in the in peer reviewed journals with 03 patents and have 01 Technology Transfer.  She has been completed her PhD from Department of Molecular and Cellular Engineering, SHIATS, India in 2016 in the area of bioenergy. She has been received 06 Young Scientist Awards. Presently, she is working on biofuels production (Cellulase enzymes; production and enhancement, biohydrogen production from waste biomass, bioethanol production). Field of Expertise: Biofuels production, microbial bioprocessing and enzyme technologies

Dr. Manish Srivastava

Manish Srivastava is working as DST INSPIRE faculty in the Department of Physics and Astrophysics, University of Delhi, India. He has published 45 research articles in the in peer reviewed journals, authored several book chapters and filed 1 patent. He worked as a post doctorate fellow in the Department of BIN Fusion Technology, Chonbuk National University from August 2012 to August 2013. He was an Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics, DIT School of Engineering, Greater Noida, from July 2011 to July 2012. He received his Ph. D. in Physics from the Motilal Nehru National Institute of Technology, Allahabad, India in 2011. Presently, he is working on the synthesis of graphene based metal oxide hybrids and their applications as catalysts. His area of interest is synthesis of nanostsructured materials and their applications as catalyst for development of electrode materials in energy storage, biosensors and biofuels production. Field of Expertise: Synthesis of nanomaterials and their application as catalyst for development of electrode materials in energy storage, biosensors and biofules productions. 

Professor P.K. Mishra

P. K. Mishra is currently Professor and Head in the Department of Chemical Engineering & Technology, Indian Institute of Technology (BHU), Varanasi, India. He obtained his PhD degree in Chemical Engineering from Institute of Technology (Banaras Hindu University) in 1995. He has authored/co-authored over 60 technical papers published in reputed national/international journals and supervised more than 20 doctoral students. He has received several awards and has 05 patents with 01 Technology Transfer. He is Fellow of Institution of Engineers India. He has received several awards at National/International levels. He has also made significant contribution towards development of entrepreneurship ecosystem in Eastern part of the country. He is coordinator Technology Business Incubator at the Institute and member Executive committee NISBUD, Ministry of Skill Development, Government of India. Field of Expertise: Biofuels production, microbial bioprocessing and enzyme technologies.

Dr. Vijai Kumar Gupta

Dr. Vijai Kumar Gupta from ERA Chair of Green Chemistry, Department of Chemistry and Biotechnology, School of Science, Tallinn University of Technology, Tallinn, Estonia, is one of the leading experts in the area of microbial biology and biotechnology. He is the member of International Sub-commission on Trichoderma and Hypocrea, Austria; International Society for Fungal Conservation, UK; and Secretary of European Mycological Association. Dr. Gupta is the Fellow of Prestigious- The Linnaean Society, London, UK; Fellow of Indian Mycological Association; and Fellow of Mycological Society of India. He has been honored with several awards in his career including Indian Young Scientist Award for his advanced research achievements in the field of fungal biology and biotechnology. He is the editor of few leading scientific journals of high repute and having many publications in his hands with h-index 21. He has edited many books for publishers of international renown such as CRC Press, Taylor and Francis, USA; Springer, USA; Elsevier Press, The Netherlands; Nova Science Publisher, USA; DE Gruyter, Germany; and CABI, UK.

Bibliographic information