© 2015

Yearbook of International Humanitarian Law 2013

  • Terry D. Gill
  • Robin Geiß
  • Robert Heinsch
  • Tim McCormack
  • Christophe Paulussen
  • Jessica Dorsey

Part of the Yearbook of International Humanitarian Law book series (YIHL, volume 16)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-viii
  2. Detention in Non-International Armed Conflict

  3. Other Articles

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 69-69
    2. Christophe Paulussen, Jessica Dorsey, Sarah-Jane Koulen
      Pages 147-216
  4. Essays on the Boundaries of the Battlefield

  5. Back Matter
    Pages 347-369

About this book



This volume contains several articles on ‘Detention in non-international armed conflict’, including the Copenhagen Process, and moreover features contributions on autonomous weapons systems, Apartheid and the second Turkel Report. It also contains an elaborate ‘Year in Review’ and a special section on the high-level Symposium ‘Boundaries of the Battlefield’ (The Hague, January 2013), including in-depth reflections on various other aspects of the Symposium.

The Yearbook of International Humanitarian Law is the world's only annual publication devoted to the study of the laws governing armed conflict. It provides a truly international forum for high-quality, peer-reviewed academic articles focusing on this crucial branch of international law. Distinguished by contemporary relevance, the Yearbook of International Humanitarian Law bridges the gap between theory and practice and serves as a useful reference tool for scholars, practitioners, military personnel, civil servants, diplomats, human rights workers and students.


Autonomous weapons systems Boundaries of the Battlefield Copenhagen Process Detention Turkel Report

Editors and affiliations

  • Terry D. Gill
    • 1
  • Robin Geiß
    • 2
  • Robert Heinsch
    • 3
  • Tim McCormack
    • 4
  • Christophe Paulussen
    • 5
  • Jessica Dorsey
    • 6
  1. 1.Criminal Law, Section Military LawUniversity of AmsterdamAmsterdamThe Netherlands
  2. 2.School of LawUniversity of GlasgowGlasgowUnited Kingdom
  3. 3.Faculteit Rechtsgeleerdheid, Instituut voor Publiekrecht, Internationaal PubliekrechtUniversiteit LeidenLeidenThe Netherlands
  4. 4.CarltonAustralia
  5. 5.The HagueThe Netherlands
  6. 6.The HagueThe Netherlands

Bibliographic information