Modern Chlor-Alkali Technology

Volume 5

  • T. C. Wellington

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xii
  2. Pej Abbott, M. Carlin, M. E. Fakley, F. E. Hancock, F. King
    Pages 23-34
  3. James T. Keating
    Pages 69-80
  4. K. Schneiders, B. Luke
    Pages 105-116
  5. Everett I. Baucom
    Pages 131-141
  6. Yasuo Sajima, Makoto Nakao, Tetsuji Shimohira, Haruhisa Miyake
    Pages 159-175
  7. Thomas F. Florkiewicz, L. Calvert Curlin
    Pages 209-221
  8. J. R. Thomerson, D. E. Billings
    Pages 223-231
  9. J. A. Walkier
    Pages 233-238
  10. Thomas F. O’Brien, Ian F. White
    Pages 239-256
  11. R. Dworak, K. Lohrberg, R. MüLler
    Pages 257-267
  12. Sergio Trasatti
    Pages 281-294
  13. Johan Wanngard
    Pages 295-306
  14. Tilak V. Bommaraju, Paul J. Orosz
    Pages 307-320
  15. Back Matter
    Pages 321-328

About this book


The papers in this volume were presented at the 1991 London International Chlorine Symposium held at the intercontinental Hotel from 5th-7th June. This was the sixth symposium in a series organized by the Electrochemical Technology Group of the SCI and held in London at intervals of three years. A continued high level of interest in the proceedings was demonstrated by offers of 40 papers, and of these 26 were selected for inclusion in the programme. The conference intention was to reflect the developments in chlorine technology hardware and software and to address the economic, political, environmental and safety issues which are increasingly impacting on the chlorine industry as the millennium approaches. In the event the five sessions were broadly based on the following topic areas: Chlorine and the Environment Membranes 1 Membranes 2 Chlorine Safety Electrodes/Electrode Reactions Not unexpectedly, the importance of membrane technology to the industry was reflected by the inclusion of 9 papers. However, the traditional diaphragm, mercury and chlorate cell technologies were also represented. The academic base of the organizing body was underlined by the selection of papers from the Universities of Milan and Calgary, and by the opening and closing remarks of the Chairman of the SCI Electrochemical Technology Group, Frank Goodridge, Professor Emeritus of Newcastle University. The opportunity was taken to present the SCI Castner Medal to Dr H. Miyake of Asahi Glass Co. Ltd for his work on the design and development of Flemion electrodes.


Absorption Sorption corrosion ion optimization reaction

Editors and affiliations

  • T. C. Wellington
    • 1
  1. 1.Hays Chemical Distribution LtdCheshireUK

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Springer Science+Business Media B.V. 1992
  • Publisher Name Springer, Dordrecht
  • eBook Packages Springer Book Archive
  • Print ISBN 978-1-85166-778-9
  • Online ISBN 978-94-011-2880-3
  • Buy this book on publisher's site