Dependable and Historic Computing

Essays Dedicated to Brian Randell on the Occasion of His 75th Birthday

  • Cliff B. Jones
  • John L. Lloyd

Part of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science book series (LNCS, volume 6875)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
  2. Part A: Biographical

    1. Hermann Kopetz
      Pages 1-6
    2. John L. Lloyd, Tom Anderson
      Pages 7-14
  3. Part B: Conference Papers

    1. Algirdas Avižienis
      Pages 15-22
    2. John Rushby
      Pages 53-57
    3. Doron Swade
      Pages 58-83
    4. Brian Wichmann
      Pages 84-92
  4. Part C: Contributed Papers

    1. Jean Bacon, Andrei Iu. Bejan, Alastair R. Beresford, David Evans, Richard J. Gibbens, Ken Moody
      Pages 93-117
    2. Jean-Pierre Banâtre, Christine Morin, Thierry Priol
      Pages 118-129
    3. Alan Burns, Sanjoy Baruah
      Pages 147-166
    4. Peter J. Denning
      Pages 251-260
    5. Tony Hoare
      Pages 261-266
    6. Michael Jackson
      Pages 273-282
    7. Jetty Kleijn, Maciej Koutny
      Pages 283-297
    8. John C. Knight
      Pages 298-312
    9. M. C. Little, S. K. Shrivastava
      Pages 323-343
    10. Roy Maxion
      Pages 344-357
    11. M. Douglas McIlroy
      Pages 358-375
    12. Ron Morrison, Dharini Balasubramaniam, Brian Warboys
      Pages 376-386
    13. Fabio Panzieri, Ozalp Babaoglu, Stefano Ferretti, Vittorio Ghini, Moreno Marzolla
      Pages 393-412
    14. David Powell, Jean Arlat, Yves Deswarte, Karama Kanoun
      Pages 428-452
    15. Michel Raynal
      Pages 453-478
    16. Fred B. Schneider
      Pages 479-485
    17. Władysław M. Turski
      Pages 498-503
  5. Back Matter

About this book


This Festschrift volume, published in honor of Brian Randell on the occasion of his 75th birthday, contains a total of 37 refereed contributions. Two biographical papers are followed by the six invited papers that were presented at the conference 'Dependable and Historic Computing: The Randell Tales', held during April 7-8, 2011 at Newcastle University, UK. The remaining contributions are authored by former scientific colleagues of Brian Randell.

The papers focus on the core of Brian Randell’s work: the development of computing science and the study of its history. Moreover, his wider interests are reflected and so the collection comprises papers on software engineering, storage fragmentation, computer architecture, programming languages and dependability. There is even a paper that echoes Randell’s love of maps.

After an early career with English Electric and then with IBM in New York and California, Brian Randell joined Newcastle University. His main research has been on dependable computing in all its forms, especially reliability, safety and security aspects, and he has led several major European collaborative projects.


Computer Security Dependability Distributed Systems Fault Tolerance History of Computing

Editors and affiliations

  • Cliff B. Jones
    • 1
  • John L. Lloyd
    • 2
  1. 1.School of Computing ScienceNewcaslte UniversityNE1 7RUUK
  2. 2.School of Computing ScienceNewcastle UniversityNewcastle upon TyneUK

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Springer-Verlag GmbH Berlin Heidelberg 2011
  • Publisher Name Springer, Berlin, Heidelberg
  • eBook Packages Computer Science Computer Science (R0)
  • Print ISBN 978-3-642-24540-4
  • Online ISBN 978-3-642-24541-1
  • Series Print ISSN 0302-9743
  • Series Online ISSN 1611-3349
  • Buy this book on publisher's site